City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Thirteen: Night Wandering)

Chapter Thirteen: Night Wandering:

“So where are we going now?” Stephanie asked. Sebastian walked in front of us, chuckling.

“It’s a surprise,” he said.

“Can’t you give us a hint?” she asked.

“No.”

Stephanie pouted. “You’re not fun!”

“It wouldn’t be fun to spoil the surprise.”

I stared at his back as we walked. Who was this beautiful man? Why was he so interested in us? We just met up this afternoon in the park and he hadn’t stopped following use around since. For some reason, most of his focus seems to be directed to me. Sebastian had told me a little bit about himself, but I still couldn’t figure him out.

“Sebastian,” I spoke up.

“Don’t tell me you’re trying to figure out where I’m taking you too.”

“No. Why are you so interested in us?”

He looked over his shoulder. “Excuse me?”

“I mean, why us? Why are we so special? What did we deserve for you to grace us with your presence?”

Sebastian chuckled. “Why you ask?”

“Yes,” I said, nodding.

“Does there have to be a reason?”

“Yes,” I said.

“No,” Stephanie at the same time as me. Sebastian stopped walking and turned to us.

“Stephanie is right,” he said. My loud friend grinned and cheered to herself.

“But there is a reason for everything,” I said.

“That isn’t always true,” Sebastian pointed out. There he goes again. His voice and the way he spoke his words held my attention. Every second we spent with him added more holes in the puzzle faster than I could put the pieces in. Stephanie nudged me in the ribs.

“You’re blushing again,” she whispered.

“Huh?” I asked. I slapped myself in the cheeks. Sebastian’s laugh didn’t make it easier on me.

“You are so cute like that, Emily,” he said. Somebody shut him up before I explode. Around this time, I really began to notice this city coming to life. The crowds walked around us. The bars, coffee shops, and clubs lit up to draw in more customers. I could feel the heart of night life around me. Usually, I stayed home to watch TV or work. It almost felt so surreal to me. Stephanie took hold of my hand.

“Beautiful, isn’t it?” she asked. I couldn’t help but look at the lights around us.

“Uh-huh,” I said, softly. Sebastian put his arms around our shoulders.

“I will gladly show you more,” he told us. I had no idea that he was so close to me. I could feel my heart pounding in my chest. Why are you this close to me? Sebastian let go of us and started walking away again.

“Come on,” he said. “We still have to get to that place that I want to show you.”

“But where are we going?” Stephanie asked.

“You will have to see when we get there,” he said.

“Hey, wait!” she yelled as she ran after him. I followed behind trying to make sense of Sebastian again. Was he some sort of a demon or something? I still don’t know the guy and I keep blushing around him. He’s not even the type of guy that I would go out with. I slowed down my walking when I realized something. I never really had a type. In fact, I didn’t really think much about dating to begin with. My mom tried to hook me up with a couple of guys back home. Those dates didn’t really go anywhere. I stayed quiet and didn’t make eye contact the whole time.

“Who do you like?” Stephanie asked me back in high school. I couldn’t give her a straight answer. I didn’t see myself getting married or having children. I wanted to go to Germany and live there. My mom and grandma hoped that I would try and find a husband. Maybe they might get their wedding.

“Hey, Em!” Stephanie shouted. “Keep up or we’ll leave you behind!” I lifted my hand.

“Hm?” I asked. She and Sebastian stood about a couple feet away from me. I jogged to check up to them.

“Sorry about that,” I said. Stephanie playfully hit me on the head.

“Keep up or we’ll leave you behind,” she said. I rubbed the back of my head, frowning.

“You didn’t have to do that,” I mumbled. She took hold of my arm.

“Let’s go,” she said. I let her drag me along like a rag doll. Sebastian smiled and led the way. I don’t think I can keep up with these two. I made an odd face as I frowned. Don’t they ever want to slow down? I am usually taking a bath around this time. As we walked further down the street, I looked around at the bright lights and people walking around. Some of them looked like they were dressed in black leather and chains. One woman dragged a man on a leash behind her while smoking a cigarette across the street. I tilted my head.

“Sebastian,” I said.

“Yes?” he asked without turning around.

“Where exactly are we?” I asked. The number of people in black leather and chains slowly started to increase. Part of my mind went to an unsavory place. That beautiful man laughed it off.

“We’re near the East Side Gallery,” he said. He said it without a thought.

“Are we going somewhere with bondage and… S&M?” I asked. The last part of that question came out in a whisper.

“No, no, nothing like that,” he said. “Those guys are going to a friend of mine’s house party.  I couldn’t go because I didn’t feel like it tonight.” Wait… he’s into that sort of thing? My skin began to crawl. But, if we’re not going there, then…

“So where exactly are we going?” I asked. Sebastian turned around with a smile on his face.

“I told you,” he replied. “It’s a surprise. You will see when we get there.” Stephanie puffed up her cheeks as she frowned.

“Spoil-sport,” she said. His words did little to put me at ease. He wouldn’t do anything that would cause a panic attack, right? Right? My stomach turned at that thought.

Oh boy… I could only hope that I would be right in my reasonable doubt tonight.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a comment

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 17,045 hits