City Lounge: Berlin (Book Three, Chapter Seven: Queen of the Club)

Chapter Seven: Queen of the Club

“How many times have you done this?” I asked Sebastian as we walked through the entrance.

“I think about four times now,” he said.

“Four times?!” I asked.

“Daniel is a good guy,” my love said. “He helped me through college.” I raised my eyebrow.

“How?” I asked.

“It’s a long story,” Sebastian brushed off as he led me further into the club. I could hear the music pounding from the hallway. When we got inside, it looked like an actual concert was taking place. So many people danced around us. A mix of rock and trip-hop blasted through the air. I’ve never been a fan of trip-hop to begin with. I like calmer things like soft rock and a little classical.

“How did you find this place?” I asked.

“What?” Sebastian asked.

“How did you find this place?” I asked again. I had to lean in for him to hear me.

“I took pictures for them,” he said. “It was for a promotional event.”

“Ah,” I said, nodding. Sebastian got lost in the music and started dancing. He got lost right into the flashing colored lights. Granted, Stephanie and my love took me out clubbing a couple of times. They looked so at home with the fast-paced music and flashing lights. I’m still not used to it myself. Sebastian pulled me in and tried to get me to dance with him.

“I can’t really dance!” I shouted.

“Just follow me,” he said. He tried to move me back and forth. “Feel the music.” I made an odd face as the music pounded through the air.

“Okay…” I mumbled. I tried to listen to the next rock/trip-hop blend that filled the club. I frowned as I felt that disconnect. I threw up my hands in the air.

“I can’t do this!” I said. I turned and started walking towards the exit. I should’ve expected this. Sebastian and Steph were the partying types. This atmosphere never suited me. I started to push my way through the dancing crowd. Suddenly, someone grabbed my wrist. I turned to see Sebastian face under the red lights. He looked concerned.

“Do you want to sit down?” he asked in the loud music. That was the best that I could read from him. I narrowed my eyes as he tried again. Finally, he took me over to the bar and we sat down.

“Better?” he asked.

“I guess…” I said. I turned and looked at the people dancing to the music picking up the pace. I lowered my head.

“I’m sorry,” I said. Sebastian put his hand on my shoulder.

“Why didn’t you say anything?” he asked. I shook my head.

“I don’t know,” I said. “I just… Maybe I thought I could impress you. I guess…”

“Impress me?” he asked. I lifted my head. Sebastian had his eyebrow raised. I whimpered as I lowered my eyes.

“I know it sounds dumb,” I said. “But Stephanie said that I was acting boring.” I could already see her laughing at me.

“Why would she say that?” he asked. I shrugged my shoulders.

“Maybe she’s right,” I said. “All I do is read and clean the apartment on my day off. But I’m in Berlin, I should be enjoying the city.” I rubbed my head and groaned. Sebastian smiled and patted me on the head.

“You don’t have to force yourself to to keep up with me on the party scene,” he said. The way he said felt like a stab to the chest. I shoved his head away.

“Please, don’t,” I said. “It feels like you are patronizing me when you do that.” My love drew back his hand.

“My apologizes,” he said. A bartender walked over to us.

“Can I get you anything?” he asked. Sebastian waved him off.

“Give us a minute,” he said. The bartender nodded and walked over to serve three girls next to us. I turned back to my boyfriend.

“I want to be less boring,” I said. “I just… Please… Can you help me?” I grabbed onto his hands. “Please, help me.”

“You sure?” Sebastian asked. I slowly nodded my head. I must have looked like a sad little puppy who was told Santa Claus doesn’t exist.

“Okay,” he said. “We’ll start off slow, okay?” I started to feel better just by hearing him say that. How did I end up with such a patient and beautiful man?

“I can do that,” I said. I reached up and brushed some of the hair out of my eyes. I tuned out the next high-powered tech song blasting through the club. I could see Sebastian smile through the flashing lights.

“Can I buy you a drink?” my love offered.

“Can I have something light?” I asked.

“Sure, my princess,” Sebastian said. He put up his hand for the bartender. “We’re ready to order now.” The bartender came back over to us.

“What can I get you?” he asked. Sebastian put his arm around my shoulders.

“Do you have any light cocktails tonight?” he asked. “This is my girl’s first time in this club.” The bartender knelt down to get a good look at my face. My eyes just on his nose and mouth.

“She’s really pretty, Sebastian,” he said.

“Thanks,” I whispered.

“What is your name, miss?” the bartender with big muscles asked.

“Emily,” I said.

“Nice to meet you, Em,” he said. Sebastian cleared his throat.

“Can you please get us our drinks?” he asked. The bartender turned his attention to him.

“Oh, right, right,” he said. “I’m on it.” He turned to his drinks before looking over his shoulder.

“You pick them so well, Sebastian,” that bartender whispered. My honey pretended not to hear him, but I caught him just as the music changed. I looked up at my boyfriend.

“Another friend of yours?” I asked.

“Pretty much,” he said.

“Did you he help you through college too?”

“No, I helped him in college.”

“How of you helped each other through college?”

Sebastian kissed me on the forehead. “Do you have all night?” I raised my eyebrow at him. The bartender came back with our drinks. I took mine with my eyes narrowed as I took a sip. Sebastian smiled and took a sip of his drink.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a comment

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 16,910 hits