City Lounge: London (Book Two, Chapter Five: Sassy Jasmine)

Chapter Five: Sassy Jasmine:

I made it back to flat again. I had planned on working on my music, but the pillow had other plans. Once I hit that bed, I was knocked out.

By noon, I heard my door buzz from the hallway. I narrowed my eyes as I lifted my head. What do you want, Jay? Why can’t you let me rest for at least ten minutes? You just dragged me along to the club. The buzzing didn’t stop and I groaned.

“Coming,” I grumbled. I had to drag myself out of bed and walk down the hall.

“Yeah?” I asked as I opened the door. To my surprise, a short and curvy black woman with sunglasses stood in front of me. She looked up at me, grinning. I blinked at first.

“Oh, it’s you, Jazz,” I said. The tiny black woman waved.

“Yo!” she said. I’ve known Jasmine since university. She’s the sanity to Jay’s chaos. When people see us together, they think that we are dating. Jazz was always quick to correct them.

“This white boy’s not my type,” she said. “I don’t date DJs.” When she says that, it’s like getting shot in the chest. But, Jazz is a great girl.

“What brings you by?” I asked.

“I was just out,” she said. Jazz pushed me aside and walked into my flat. I actually don’t mind her barging into my place. All she would have to do is stare at me and I go quiet fast. Today, I closed the door behind me.

Jazz walked around my living room like she owned the place. She snorted and took off her sunglasses.

“Don’t you ever clean this place up?” she asked.

“It’s not that bad,” I said. “Jay’s place is much worse.” Jazz thought about that for a moment before nodding.

“True,” she said. “But you know I don’t like a dirty place.”

“Yeah, yeah. How have you been?”

“Bored.”

I tilted my head. “What do you mean? I thought you had Billy.”

Jazz flipped back her long black hair. “That’s over.”

“You’re kidding.”

“No, I am not.”

My jaw dropped to the ground. “Uh… When did this happen?”

“Three weeks ago,” she said.

“Why didn’t you tell me?” I asked. Jazz walked over to my couch and flopped down.

“You never asked and I didn’t feel it was important to tell you,” she said. I gave her a baffled look.

“What?” I asked. She looked up at my stained ceiling.

“Mate, you need to have this ceiling looked at,” she said. “I think your neighbours upstairs might have a leak or something.”

“Why didn’t you feel it was important to tell me that you lot broke up?” I asked again. Jazz stared me down.

“You lot already made your opinions clear on how you felt about him,” she said. “I didn’t want to hear you say, ‘I told you so.'”

“Fair enough,” I said.

“And what about you?” Jazz asked. “How have you been doing?”

“I’m getting back into music again,” I said. “Well, I never left, but I have fallen back in love with it again. Last night, I DJed at Oasis Princess.” Jazz narrowed her eyes as if I had told her a lame joke.

“Why would you DJ at a place like that?” she asked.

“Care to take a guess?” I asked. “I’ll give you three of them if you want.”

“Jay, Jay, and wait for it, Jay?” she said. I pressed my lips together and nodded.

“Was he looking for another girlfriend?”

“Yeah.”

“Things aren’t going so well with what’s her name then?”

“No.”

“Why am I not surprised? Anything else going on with you?”

“Oh, I’ve gotten into writing a new track,” I said after a little bit of thought. Jazz whistled.

“You haven’t done that in forever,” she said. “What brought this on?” I smiled and shrugged my shoulders.

“Sorry,” I said. “I can’t tell you the inspiration just yet.” Jazz gave me a blank stare.

“Why?” she asked.

“Cause I know what you are going to say if I tell you,” I said. My mate sat back, frowning. She looked so cute when she pouts. It remind me of Sophie when she gets annoyed and pissed off. I shook my head.

“So, what are you doing now?” I asked instead. Jazzy looked up at my ceiling again.

“You really should talk to your neighbors about your ceiling,” she said. “The stains look really bad.” I threw back my head and groaned.

“Can you forget about my ceiling?” I asked.

“At least go upstairs and talk them.”

“Fine! I’ll talk them this week.”

“Thank you.”

I rubbed my forehead. Does she have to be so nitpicky about my place? “What are you doing now?”

“Right now, I’m talking to you,” Jazz said. “Currently, I’m starting a new article about contraceptives for women.” I pressed my lips together and nodded.

“Ace,” I said. “UK Women is still pulling along.”

“Yeah,” she said.

“You staying long?” I asked.

Jazz raised her eyebrow. “Why? Are you trying to get rid of me?”

“Nah,” I said. I sat down next to her on the couch. We really do look like a couple. Even Jay makes fun of us together.

“Why don’t you kiss already?” he asked. Jazzy would put her hands on her hips and stick up her nose.

“That would be like kissing my brother!” she would remark. It was true, but the way she said still hurt. Jay would cover his mouth and laugh. Today, I looked up at the ceiling. You know, she was right about the stains. How long have I had those there? I might have to go up to my neighbors and have a talk with them.

Suddenly, my mobile started to ring. I reached over and my heart jumped in my chest.

“Excuse me, I’ve got to take this,” I said. I flipped open my phone and walked into the kitchen.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Is this a bad time?” Sophie asked on the other end of the line. I shook my head with big eyes.

“No,” I whispered.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,076 hits
