City Lounge: London (Book Two, Chapter Four: Sophie the Queen)

Chapter Four: Sophie the Queen:

-Paul-

Even tonight, Sophie still has a strange effect on me. Seeing her face changed my plans for tonight. Initially, I had just planned to go with the flow of playing crappy pop music for the ladies tonight. (My soul was dying in the process). But when I saw her face on the monitors above, something inside of me took over. I began to think about my own music. That day with Sophie started up my passion for music again.

Before I knew it, my fingers took over the DJ Booth. Something inside of me told me not think, but feel. I counted down to when the last Sam Smith song played out. My mind chanted Massive Attack.

Massive Attack. Massive Attack. Massive Attack Massive Attack. Massive Attack!

Before I knew it, “Angel” started floating through the club.

The girls on the dance floor looked so confused at first. Poor birds. They probably didn’t know what real music was. I almost felt sorry for them. But then, I saw Sophie smiling. Ah-ha! I connected with her. I let the lyrics spill into the club.

You… Are my angel. Come from way above. To bring me love.

What’s going to come after this? “Angel” was the first song in the mixtape I gave her. What was the next track? I rubbed my forehead to try and remember.

Tricky ended up coming next.

I looked up and happened to see Sophie about to get up when “Aftermath” filled the club. I’m tempted to get her away from the bar and onto the dance floor. The other birds can’t figure out what I’m doing. At this point, they become background props. Sophie is the main star of this night. I need to play more music to draw her out to the dance floor.

Let’s see, what should I play next?

“Spin Spin Sugar” by Sneaker Pimps floated through the air. Sophie really looked like she wanted to get up now. Some of the girls started to dance to the dark, high-energy music. Again, I didn’t care about them. They were just there in my opinion. The real star wasn’t sure if she should join in or not. I think I will need another song to get her moving. I closed my eyes and tried to remember what came next on the tape.

Was it Portishead or another Massive Attack song? This had to be right. I think the next song was “Sour Times”. Damn it, it’s been so long since I made that tape. Why can’t I remember?

My attention snapped back when I could hear “Inertia Creeps” through the speakers. My spine froze. Wait… was that what came next? Did I screw up the order? I gulped as I stared out on the dance floor. To my surprise, Sophie’s eyes lit up brighter than a Christmas tree. She finally made her way to the dance floor. My lips covered into a smile as she began to dance to the music. The other girls looked like extras in a surreal movie. I didn’t mind the glitter falling on Sophie’s long brown hair. In fact, it kind of looked hot in way. The colored fog couldn’t hide my queen.

Wait a minute. Did I just call her my queen? Why am I playing the music we like as if it’s just her and me in the room? We’re not in a relationship anymore. What the hell am I doing? But I can’t stop the flow now. My creative juices scream out me to put out more trip hop. The bird s in the  club are loving it too. Inside of me yelled at to play more Tricky and the other classic trip hop artists. Wasn’t this what I dreamed of? I wanted to be like my idols. Where did I go wrong with my life?

By now, I surrendered to myself and let the music take over. I didn’t even focus on the birds chanting at me to do. I didn’t answer to them. I didn’t answer to Jay or the boss of the club. I didn’t even answer to Queen Sophie. The only boss I had now was the music.

By morning, I felt like I was going to pass out. I took a seat at the bar as the party started winding down. I slung my arm up in the air.

“Get me whatever,” I said. I looked around at this club slowly going to sleep. What time is it now? I had never felt this into a set piece like I was last night. Was it even possible to feel like this? When did I lose that feeling? Could I even get it back again?

I sat up straight when someone smacked me on the back. I whipped around to see Jay glaring at me. I blinked at him.

“You!” he hissed. “What was that last night?”

“Huh?” I asked.

“Why did you go off script like that? You were supposed to do as the club says and stay on track? What were you thinking last night?”

I sat there with a blink expression on my face. I started to speak, but nothing was coming out.

“Gentlemen!” a loud voice boomed. We looked up to see the manager walking towards us with his arms wide open.

“I’m so sorry if my mate ruined your night!” Jay was quick to say. The manager gave him a confused look.

“Huh? What are you talking about?” he asked. “I thought Paul here did a great job.” Jay and my jaw dropped.

“Are you serious?” I asked.

“Why would I lie about something like that?” the club’s manager asked. “In fact, are you free next weekend?”

“Well… uh…” I started to say.

“Of course he is!” Jay cut in. I had to force myself to stay seated and not kill my mate. Stop trying to speak for me, you wanker! The manager broke into a huge grin.

“Excellent!” he said. “I will see you then!” He turned and walked away. I should be pissed off at Jay for speaking for me, but somehow that creative urge calmed me down as I began to think about Sophie. It didn’t take my mind long to form more beat to the song that I had started from the day after my day with my ex.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,076 hits
