City Lounge: London (Book Two, Chapter Three: Forced Girls’ Night)

Chapter Three: Forced Girls’ Night:

-Sophie-

I didn’t want to be out here. This was all Carrie’s dumb idea. She called me up just as I had finished eating dinner. I thought I had put my mobile on silent. I just wanted to stay in for evening and watch some TV.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Sophie!” someone cheered on the other line! I held my phone from my ear.

“Carrie?” I asked. “What is it?”

“I’m going out with Rachel and Rose to Club Oasis tonight!” she bragged. “Why do you come out with us?”

“Why?” I asked.

“I won’t be fun without you,” she said. I rubbed my forehead. Did she have to use that line on me?

“Why are you there with your coworkers?” I asked. “I thought you didn’t like them.”

“I don’t,” Carrie said.

“So… why are you there? You don’t make any sense.”

She sighed over the phone. “I was kind of dragged along with them.”

“I thought they didn’t like you.”

“They don’t.”

I rubbed my forehead. Ow! “So why are you all there?”

“Please come out here with me? It will be so boring if I’m stuck out here by myself.”

“So why go at all?”

“I don’t know.”

My face dropped. “You don’t know?”

“Please go with me?”

“No.”

“Please?” Her whining was making my ears hurt. You can guess what happened next.

I sat at the bar, frowning. I still couldn’t see the logic in this night. Carrie can’t stand Rachel and Rose. She thinks they are conceited, air-haired, and attention whores. They treat her like a servant at her place of work. Why are these three even together? I wanted to say it was because of Carrie’s hot fiance, but he has no interest in stupid girls. I met the man myself. He seems like a decent bloke. I hope he treats her well.

I digress.

How am I going to get out of here unseen? Why are we even in this pretentious club anyway? Carrie and I don’t make enough money to be here. This place was only for the rich princess-type. I don’t even like partying while Carrie just goes along with the crowd to be loved. (The poor cow.) I looked around at all the girls in the club. There should be a law against this much fake tan in one place. In fat, I didn’t think any of these girls were real. Their hair, their nails, their tits, and even their asses. Rachel and Rose fit in with these girls perfectly. I will give Carrie credit for not trying to be like them. I think she’s a pretty girl just the way she is.

I pushed through thoughts out of my head and tried to focus on an escape plan. I moved my attention from the dance floor to the bar. A few meters from my right, I spotted Jay trying to catch up some footballer wife wannabes. He broke into laughter as they walked away. I guess things weren’t working between him and Ginny again. I have never quite understood that couple. She’s above average at best and he’s just a flaming idiot. He claims he won her over by the “good old Jay charm”, but I think she was just bored. Now, I don’t really know the girl. The most that we have spoken is, “Hi, Ginny. Hi, Sophie” and moved on from there. Meanwhile, Jay is still on the hunt for another girl to try and get himself over his ex. In my opinion, he’s looking in the wrong place.

I didn’t know where Carrie disappeared to. I could spot Rachel and Rose on the dance floor dancing with other girls. This fog and glitter can’t hide the fact that I don’t belong here. You know, I have never really liked glitter. I wish I could go back into time and smack whoever invented it.

I closed my eyes and shook my head. I keep getting off track here. I’m supposed to be trying to escape. Why do keep getting distracted? As I try to think again, my got lost in the pounding pop music. I couldn’t understand why my mates in high school loved this type of music so much. I was never into things like the Spice Girls or Take That. Ever since I thirteen, I liked the underground stuff like Massive Attack, Tricky, and Sneaker Pimps. Carrie couldn’t understand my tastes, but I think I’m slowly pulling her away from all of that pop shite. I have my ex, Paul, to thank for that.

I thought back on the day we first met. School had just let out that afternoon and I didn’t feel like going home at the time. Instead, I took my usual shortcut to the park. It looked like it was going to rain too. You know those pictures of London where the sky is always grey? That is true, I’m almost sorry to say. Anyway, I was heading towards my favorite spot when I noticed a boy in the bushes holding a black box in his hand. At first, I thought he was playing with a toy car or something. I would’ve thought nothing about it if I hadn’t heard faint music coming from his direction. I peered over the bushes and began watching this boy. He had a notebook in his lap and I saw the black wire coming from the box. Hm, I thought as I tried to figure out what he was doing.

It was then this boy looked up and noticed me. I about jumped backwards.

“Oh!” I yelped. I thought this boy would get mad at me. Instead, he heard out his headphones.

“Would you like to listen?” this boy asked. Strange thing to ask a random stranger to listen to something when they have been standing over you, watching for quite some time. I didn’t know how to react, so I said yes. He played for me “Angel” by Massive Attack. I didn’t know who he was at the time, but this was bloke after my heart.

“You like that, huh?” he asked.

“I love it!” I said. I stuck out my hand. “I’m Sophie. What’s your name?” That charming boy broke into a big smile.

“Paul,” he said.

I happened to lift my head when the music changed to something I was more familiar with in my taste. My ear caught onto to the beats. Wait… Is that Massive Attack? “Paradise Circus” floated over my head. My jaw dropped. When did the music change from crap to awesome? My mind started to make great leaps before I connected the dots.

Wait… This can’t be. Is that… I looked towards the DJ and dropped my drink. What was Paul doing DJing in this club?

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
