City Lounge: London (Book Two, Chapter Two: High Night)

Chapter Two: High Night:

Jay wasn’t kidding when said that Club Oasis was posh. Only the rich people came out here to party. Just looking at the line made me feel much poorer.

“Uh… How did you find this place?” I asked.

“Just looking around,” Jay said.

“And how did you book me a gig?”

He snickered and tapped the side of his nose. “I have skills, mate!” I resisted the urge to laugh with unease. I don’t like where this is going. How the hell are we supposed to get in with a line that long? Before I had a chance to argue, Jay dragged me across the street.

He dragged me through the back way. When I looked up, there was a man in a bright pink suit with arms open towards us.

“Jay, welcome!” he shouted. His gold teeth didn’t help my nerves. Jay stepped forward, grinning.

“Big Boss Man!” he said. “It’s so good to see you!” Both blokes laughed and hugged. I felt like I was in a cartoon of some sort. This can’t be real, right? Big Boss Man looked me up and down.

“This our guest DJ?” he asked.

“That’s right!” Jay bragged. “He’s the best in all of London. This is my mate, Paul Gallagher.” Best in London? I know I’m good, but you are overselling it there, mate.

“Is that true?” the big man in pink asked.

“I’m pretty good,” I said. Jay smacked me on the back.

“Come on, mate!” he said. “Don’t be so humble! Show off your skills! You’re headlining the night after all.” I looked at him with big eyes. What?! I didn’t sign up for this! I am going to get Jay later.

“Well then, come on in!” the Big Boss Man said. “You’ve got ten minutes to get ready.” Both he and Jay dragged me inside before I could say a word.

———

The light pink mist made my eyes burn when I first stepped inside. People danced to the pounding music around us. I had to shield my eyes to look around. Was it possible for there to be so glitter raining down everywhere. Jay couldn’t stop licking his lips.

“So many birds here!” he shouted.

“What?” I asked.

“Look around!” my mate yelled. He was right. This was truly what ladies’ night looked like. These birds were fit too. Sophie was pretty fit too. I couldn’t tell who looked better. I had only spent a whole day with my ex and I was pretty confused. Still…

Someone nudged me in the side.

Before I could look around, someone grabbed me by the shoulder and dragged me towards the gold and purple DJ Booth. By the time I came to my senses, the music had stopped and all eyes were on me. I didn’t even get time to get into my work mode. But, I still had to act or end up getting thrown out of the club.

I grabbed the mic.

“Uh… Hello, everyone,” I said. I didn’t get nervous behind the DJ Booth. I’ve been doing this for six years now. But, I couldn’t get a read on this club.

“How are you all doing tonight?” I asked. Their eyes stayed on me. I think they wanted me to shut up and play my music.

“Okay…” I said. “We’re going to get into a happy mood with some sick beats tonight! Alright!” It didn’t take long for me to get into my work mode. I decided to test the crowd with a popular song from this year. Hm… Let’s see what we have here.

Sam Smith… Meghan Trainor… Cal Harris… Taylor Swift…

I decided to go with one at random.

“All About That Bass” filled that club. To my surprise, the birds began to dance. Glitter and fog heightened to the sharp notes. Jay stood at the bar giving me a thumbs-up on the monitor. So far, so good. While the song played, I measured up the crowd. These birds want to pretty like the princesses they want to be. They needed to be pampered with the sweet pop sounds and high-energy dance. (All of the things I hated, to be honest. Which I why I turned to the underground scene.) When the song came to an end, I put on the next one.

As the sugary music played, making my teeth hurt in the process, I plotted out how I would write my own music. It was tempting to slip in my own beats through this pop shite. I didn’t know how this crowd would take it, though. I probably should’ve done my homework before I came out here tonight. I meant to, but other things got in the way.

My eyes wandered to the giant flat screens that focused on the club. Everyone looked like they were having a good time. You know, I can’t enjoy the nightclub seem anymore. Reminds me too much of work. I don’t understand why Jay has the need to look for girls in clubs like this. They would just stick up his nose at him. I’m amazed he managed to keep Ginny this long.

My eyes happened to jump to another monitor before freeze cold. Wait… Is that…? No way…

Sophie, at least I thought it was her, sat at the bar further down from Jay, frowned over her drink. Judging by her eyes, she looked like she would rather be somewhere else. But why would she be in a posh place like this? She and I were poor to these people. Her richer mates probably dragged her to this club like Jay with me.

I shook my head.

There’s no way we could be in the same club at the same time. That would be too cliched. I would be pathetic for hoping it was true too. Before I knew it, I began to think about my own music. The sugary pop made me want to vomit even more now. I took a peek at the girls dancing on the floor. Maybe I could slip in a little something. Maybe just a little something…

Before I knew it, my fingers, instinct, heart, and soul began to act on their own. Before my brain could catch up, my true self took over and didn’t want to stop.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
