City Lounge: London (Book Two, Chapter One: Creative Force)

City Lounge: London

Book Two

Chapter One: Creative Force:

-Paul-

I have to work tonight.

I’ve been on a high flow of creativity for the best week. I keep coming with dope beats and I’m not able to write them down fast enough. Every time I come up with the foundation of a new track, I see Sophie’s face. Meeting her again gave me a new passionate to make music again. My room is starting to be filled up with notes of music notes and lyrics. (I haven’t written lyrics since third grade.) How did Sophie give me that much energy to make music? I can’t seem to stop either.

This morning, I woke up wanting to make music. In my shower, more notes for the bass formed in my head. The more I got into the music, I started to see Sophie’s face. I about jumped in the shower.

I couldn’t understand why I kept thinking about my ex. We ran into each other and now we seemed to be rebuilding something. We talk on the phone every night. Sometimes, it would be just about nothing. Last night, we didn’t really talk at all. I miss those days. I still wonder what happened to us.

Maybe… We could…

My vibe was killed by the buzz of my doorbell. I groaned and dropped my head back.

“Who is it?” I asked.

“It’s me, mate!” a familiar voice shouted outside. A confused look came over my face as I walked over to the door. When I opened it, I became even more puzzled.

“Jay?” I asked. My best mate stood outside, grinning.

“It’s me!” he said. I narrowed my eyes.

“What are you doing here this early?” I asked. “Did somebody die?”

“No,” he insisted.

“Did you get kicked out again?”

“No.”

I folded my arms across my chest. “I am not giving you any more money. You still owe me from the last quid I loaned you!”

“No, I’m not here for that, mate! I will get you your money back, I promise.”

I frowned as I rolled my eyes. Where have I heard that one before? “Then… why are you here?” Jay put his hands on his hips and grinned.

“I just booked you a gig in the poshest club in London!” he bragged. I blinked with no emotion on my face.

“How?” I asked.

“I have skills!” Jay did a stupid Kung-fu pose while yelling like a dumbass. I smacked myself in forehead.

“Hey, wanker!” one of my neighbours yelled. “It’s only eight in the morning! Keep it down! Jay snorted and flicked the V in the that direction.

“Oh, piss off!” he shouted.

“Jay!” I shouted.

“What?” he asked.

“What club?” I asked. Jay turned back to me with a huge grin.

“The Oasis Princess!” he said. “It’s going to be ladies’ night too!” I frowned as I narrowed my eyes. Could he be that obvious?

“Things still not working out with Ginny then?” I asked. Jay broke into a laughter loud enough to make my ears hurt.

“Mate, forget about her,” he said. “It’s about you getting your name out there and me going home with some fit birds!” Of course he would use me as an excuse to get laid!

“And what do I get out of this?” I asked. Jay wildly put his arm around my shoulders.

“Didn’t you hear me?” he asked. “You get to spread out your music and score some birds while you’re at it.” I don’t exactly know why this next part came out of my mouth. I guess it might have been the old days coming back through me or probably wishful thinking. But, I looked at Jay with a strange look.

“But, I’m seeing someone already,” I said. Jay’s eyes lit up as he gave me a crooked smile.

“Oh?” he asked. “When did this happen? Who’s the lucky bird?” It was then I realized my error. Why did I blurt that out? Jay’s not going to let me walk that back at any cost. I had no choice.

I ended up pushing myself further into this brewing mess.

“Sophie,” I said in a weak voice. “I ran into her last week and we ended up on a sort date that Saturday.” Why did I sound so unsure as it came out of my mouth? Just as I predicted, Jay frowned at me, shaking his head.

“What?” I asked.

“That’s not a good idea,” my best mate said. “You better steer away from her while you still can.”

“Why?”

“It’s just not worth it.”

“But why?”

“Don’t you remember how stressed out you both were after university?”

I slowly shook my head. “No… When was this?”

Jay patted me on the shoulder. “It’s best that you don’t remember, mate.”

“But why?” I asked. He perked up with that stupid grin of his again.

“Forget about her, Paul!” my mate said. “Come out to the club tonight! You’ll find a new bird to get your mind off of your ex. Besides, you might get discovered by a big name producer for a record deal.” I pushed him off of me.

“Now you’re just overselling it there, mate,” I said.

“You never know,” Jay insisted. “Come on, just for tonight. Please?” This prick doesn’t know when to quit. If I stood out here trying to talk him out of this latest scheme of his, I will be out here forever. I really want to get back to making more beats. Although, it would be ace to get some of these tracks out of my head. This gig could be a good way for me to come up with more beats.

“Fine, what time?” I asked.

“Eight o’clock,” he said. I cut a sharp glare at Jay.

“Don’t be late coming to pick me up like the last time you booked a gig for me,” I warned him. My mate stood smiling with his hands on his hips.

“Cheers, mate!” he said. “You will not be disappointed!” Jay turned and marched off, laughing. I rolled my eyes and closed the door. I’m only doing this for the music.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,022 hits
