City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Ten: Couple Celebration)

Chapter Ten: Couple Celebration:

That same evening, Stephanie learned the news that Sebastian and I became a couple again. She clapped her hands together and grinned.

“Wow! I’m so happy for you!” she said.

“Thanks,” I said. We already told you this and you went back to sleep! Stephanie jumped to her feet.

“Let’s celebrate!” she said. I gave her a blank stare.

“You were too bored to do anything a couple of hours ago,” I pointed out. My crazy friend raised her arms in the air.

“I’m awake now,” she said. “It’s time to celebrate the happy couple!” Stephanie marched over to my door.

“Where are you going?” I asked.

“To the store,” Stephanie said over her shoulder. “We’re going to name a few things if we are going to do this right.” She was already out the door before I could open my mouth again. Sebastian put his hand on my shoulder. I turned to him with my mouth open. He gently shook his head. I turned to back to the door and closed my mouth.

———

An hour later, Stephanie returned with bagfuls of groceries.

“Okay!” she said. “We’re all set!” I raised my eyebrow at everything she was holding.

“What is all of that?” I asked.

“Food and booze!” she said, grinning. Why did I bother to ask? Sebastian and I followed her to my kitchen.

“So we’re cooking?” I asked as she set everything down on the counters.

“That’s right,” she said.

“We don’t have to do that much,” I said. “Mrs. Disl came by and gave me some Kassler, you know.”

“That’s not enough, though. Besides, we hadn’t had dinner yet. Now, come over and help out.” Stephanie began going through my drawers to find kitchen utensils. She’s already gone in her own world. Sebastian walked into my kitchen and put down a spare apron my grandma gave me before I left for Germany.

“I’ll help out,” he said. My heart stopped for a short second. Sebastian was going to cooking in my kitchen? I… I think I might love him more.

“I’ll help out too!” I was quick to say. “You guys don’t know where everything is!”

“I’ve found places to hide booze, haven’t I?” Stephanie asked. I tried not to laugh in discomfort at that statement.

“Right…” I said instead. I suddenly got an idea.

“Hang on,” I said. I walked into my living room and turned on my TV. Seconds later, swing music filled the apartment. Sebastian smiled as I did a little dance back to the kitchen. It didn’t take us long to get into a rhythm for our cooking. Sebastian manned my stove while Stephanie and I cut up different meat and vegetables. My friend looked up from the potatoes that she cutting.

“Do you have any candles?” she asked.

“Yes,” I said. “Why?”

“We need a little bit of a setting for our celebration.”

I gave my crazy friend a strange look. “Is the really necessary?”

“Yes. We have the food, booze, and music. Why not take it to the next level? I even went out and bought a tablecloth.”

“You serious?”

“Oh yes! We’re going out all fancy tonight, mate! It’s a big occasion.” Stephanie slapped me on the back.

“Ow,” I whispered. She’s really going to do this, isn’t this? Dinner turned out really simple, but appetizing. The three of us stared at the stew like it was a newborn baby.

“Wow!” I said.

“Impressive,” Stephanie said.

“Thank you,” Sebastian said.

“Do you cook often?”

“Why yes.”

My crazy friend turned to me. “Emily, you are one lucky bitch.” I broke into a nervous laugh as I rubbed the back of my head. Stephanie walked over to the counter and reached into the remaining paper bag. She grinned as she pulled out a paper tablecloth.

“You don’t have to do that,” Sebastian said.

“Oh, but I must!” Stephanie said. She unwrapped the tablecloth and spread it all over the table in the living room. Plates, glasses, silverware, and napkins followed suit. My crazy friend turned her focus on me.

“Get the candles, please?” she asked.

“What?” I asked. Stephanie cleared her throat.

“The candles,” she repeated. “Go get them.” I about jumped when she said that.

“Oh,” I said. “Hang on.” I went down to my bathroom and picked up the unlit tall purple candles I had sitting on the sink. I held them up when I made it back to my guests.

“Will these do?” I asked.

“Are they scented?” Stephanie asked.

“I don’t know,” I said before taking a smell. “I guess.” My crazy friend shrugged.

“Good enough,” she said. Moments later, the three us sat at the table with lit candles and swing music playing in the background. Stephanie held up her glass.

“I would like to propose a toast to the new happy couple,” she said. “Cheers!”

“Cheers,” Sebastian and I said. Our glasses clinked and we took a drink. I shuddered as soon as my beverage hit my tongue.

“Whoops, I forgot you don’t drink, Em,” Stephanie said. I shook my head.

“It’s fine,” I lied. “I’ll probably have to get used to it anyway.”

“I’ll get your flavored water,” she said.

“No!” I said as I put up my hand. “It’s fine. Just sit down and eat.”

“You sure?”

“Yes!”

“Okay.”

“Thank you.” I took a bite of the beef and vegetable stew that we made together. Right away, the rich taste danced on my tongue. “Mmm, this is so good!”

“Aw, thanks,” Sebastian said. This prompted Stephanie to pick up her spoon and take a bite.

“Mmm! I think I might have just taken a bite of heaven!” she said. “Sebastian, do you have any brothers?”

“No,” he said. My crazy friend pouted.

“Darn it,” she said. We spent the rest of the night eating and talking. Stephanie kept going on about how she was so happy for us. It felt kind of embarrassing, but I let it slide. The whole time, Sebastian held my hand under the table. My cheeks turned bright pink.

It felt good to be official.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
