City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Nine: Nothing Much to Do)

Chapter Nine: Nothing Much to Do:

Another weekend at my apartment. The three of us lay on the living room floor. Stephanie lifted her head.

“I’m bored,” she complained.

“So what do you want to do?” I asked. She shrugged and shook her head.

“I don’t know,” my crazy friend said.

“Do we have to do anything?” Sebastian asked.

“But I’m bored,” Stephanie said.

“Yes, we know,” I said. Usually, I would reach over to my remote and turn on some music to shut her up. But, even I felt too lazy to do that.

“Anyone hungry?” I asked.

“No,” my guests said.

“Right…” I muttered. I turned my eyes to the ceiling. This has never happened before. We would at least be doing something by now. Sebastian was fine with this while Stephanie looked like she wanted to get up and leave. Me? I’m just trying to keep everyone happy. I rolled over onto my shoulder.

“So how was everyone this week?” I asked.

“Work, work, work,” Sebastian said.

“Not much going on,” Stephanie said. My face became grim. Okay, this might not go anywhere. I put my arms behind my head. Looks like I’m going to have be the one to start something. But I don’t have any ideas. Maybe we should just do nothing. I frowned.

But how would that work out?

I rolled back over onto my back. I wouldn’t mind hearing a little swing music again. Sebastian’s gotten me into it ever since that day we first danced together. I play it when I’m cooking, cleaning, or doing some paperwork at home. But I am so lazy right now. Also, why does it have to be so hot today? I feel like I am going to melt.

“Is anyone else hot in here?” I asked.

“Yes,” Stephanie and Sebastian said.

“Air conditioning or windows?” I asked.

“Windows,” they said.

“Okay,” I mumbled. I had to push myself to my feet to walk across the room. I rolled up the blinds and opened the window. I never felt so lazy before in my life.

“Better?” I asked.

“Yeah,” my guests said. I walked back over and lay down on the floor. I probably should’ve turned on the music then, but I was too lazy.

“Now what?” I asked.

“Nothing,” Sebastian said. By this point, Stephanie had dozed off. I turned my head and that beautiful German man was sound asleep too. I gave up seconds later and went to sleep.

———-

I could’ve sworn I heard someone knocking on the door hours later. I opened one eye and took a listen. Wait, there is someone knocking on the door. I sat up, looking around.

“Who is it?” I asked.

“It’s me,” an old lady’s voice said. “Are you okay in there?” Confused, I walked over to the front door. I sat on my tiptoes to peek out the peep hole. An old lady with white hair stood outside, trying to look inside. I blinked as I opened the door. She put her hand to her chest as she breathed out.

“I’m so glad you’re alright,” the old lady. “I had been pounding on your door for thirty minutes.”

“Mrs. Disl?” I asked. “What are you doing here?”

“I was making some Kassler, but I made too much,” she said. “Would you like some?” I blinked at first.

“Alright,” I said. “Thanks.” Mrs. Disl peeked inside as she handed me the meat.

“Emily, dear?” she asked. “Who is that young man in your apartment?”

“Huh?” I asked as I turned around. Sebastian sat up on the living room floor and waved.

“Hi,” he said. I whipped around to see Mrs. Disl grinning at me like a wild cat.

“What?” I asked.

“Is he your boyfriend?” she asked. I about jumped at that question.

“Yeah!” I yelped. “I mean… Sort of… We just started dating recently.”

“Is that right? He’s really cute.”

“Yeah…” I rubbed the back of my head as I chuckled.

“You’re so lucky. He remembers me of my late husband.” Mrs. Disl had a twinkle in her eyes as she spoke.

“Thanks.” Why was I laughing like a dumbass? I am twenty-one years old, not a high school girl! Get it together, girl! I could feel Sebastian’s eyes on my back. Part of me dreaded turning around to see the look on his face. Mrs. Disl cleared her throat.

“Anyway, let me know what you think of the Kassler,” she said.

I recovered and came back to reality. “Okay. Thank you. You have a good day.”

“You too, dear. If you ever need anything like love advice, I’ll be happy to help you out.” That old lady smiled and winked. I forced myself to grin as I waved.

“Sure,” I said. “You have a good day.” I closed the door before she could say another word. I leaned back, panting. What was that? I had never heard her talk that before. I didn’t want to know how lonely she was at times.

“Who was that?” I heard someone ask. I looked to see Sebastian looking at me with an eyebrow raised. I closed my mouth and stood up straight.

“A neighbor of mine,” I said. “She helped me out when I first came to Berlin. Mrs. Disl is really nice. Sometimes, she makes too much food for herself and will give it to the other neighbors in the apartment. I think she does it because she is lonely.” I noticed the look on my crush’s face.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

“What am I to you?” he asked. My face kind of dropped.

“Huh?” I asked.

“Are we a couple?” Sebastian asked. His tone threw me for a loop.

“Do you want us to be?” I asked.

“Yes.” He said it so serious and without missing a beat. I gulped as I nodded.

“Okay, then we are officially couple,” I said. Why was my voice trembling when I said that. It should be that easy, right? I walked over and put my arms around Sebastian’s neck. He took me into his arms. This should be okay, yeah? We’ll be able to work this out as we go along. This should work out, right?

“Did I miss anything?” Stephanie asked as she slowly woke up. I clutched onto Sebastian’s shirt as tightly as I could.

“We’re a couple now,” I said.

“You are?” she asked.

“Yeah,” Sebastian said. Stephanie looked at us with half-asleep eyes.

“Oh. Cool,” she said. My crazy friend lay back down on the floor and went back to sleep. I smiled and shook my head. Oh Stephanie…

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
