City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Seven: Art Exhibit)

Chapter Seven: Art Exhibit:

I don’t remember ever going to Berlinische Galerie. Standing in front of glass doors felt like a dream. I had to pinch myself in the cheeks. Suddenly, I felt underdressed.

“Fancy place,” I whispered. Sebastian put his arm around my shoulders.

“I don’t think so,” he said. I looked up at him with a weird look on my face. I took look around the museum. Everyone was either dressed in black, white, or both. We blended in, color-wise, I’ll give us that. But, the other guests looked like they had walked out of period piece from England. One lady even stopped and looked me up and down. She wrinkled her nose and walked off. Sebastian patted me on the head.

“We got here a little bit early,” he said. “Shall we look around for a bit?” His soothing voice made me feel a little better.

“Sure,” I said. He led me around the museum. I glanced over my shoulder at the crowd forming at the glass doors.

“How long do we have before the main exhibit opens?” I asked.

“Ten minutes,” my date said.

“Think we’ll make it back in time?”

“We’ll have to try and see.” He nuzzled me on the cheek. My questioning came to a halt once again. Okay… I’ll let you take the lead. The Berlinische Galerie had some standard art pieces. To be truthful with you, I have never understood modern art. The classics were pretty. I think that’s because I haven’t really dived into German art. (I know of its history, but I didn’t pay much attention to it at the time.) Sebastian, on the other hand, looked like a little kid in a toy store. I tilted my head as he looked at a piece by I believe his name was Gerhard Richter.

“How did you get so into art?” I asked. Sebastian turned around with a warm, nostalgic look in his eyes.

“My mom is an artist,” he said. “Come over here.” He pulled me over to his side. “Tell me what you see.” I narrowed my eyes.

“A mess?” I asked.

“No, no, no,” my date said. “Really look at it.”

“I am.” I didn’t know what he wanted me to look at. The painting just looked like the artist had thrown buckets of paint on a canvas and let it dry. I thought Sebastian would fly away as he stared at it in awe. I have heard that Germans have strange tastes. I am starting to believe that tonight.

“What is so great about this painting?” I asked.

“The expression,” he said.

“Huh?”

Sebastian put his arm around my shoulders. “When I look at it, I feel at one with the bright yellow. It screams at you to pay close attention to it.”

I nodded along with him. “Hm… Okay…” Questioning it wouldn’t help. I pressed my lips together and nodded. That’s all you, dear. That’s all you.

When we rounded the corner, it was time for the main exhibit to begin. Sebastian and I blended into the crowd waiting patiently. A curvy woman dressed in black and white walked in front of the doors.

“Good evening, everyone,” she greeted the guests. “Welcome to Berlinische Galerie’s exhibit, Fire Passions.” Applause erupted through the room. Sebastian clapped his hands above his head. The woman held up her hands and the crowd quieted down.

“You shall be taken through a journey of the strongest emotions of man,” she said. “Anger and love. At the end, the artist herself will give a speech and take your questions. Enjoy your night.” The lady stepped aside and the doors opened. Sebastian held my hand as he led me inside.

Bright red walls greeted us as we walked through the exhibit. I turned to my date.

“So is this a walk-through?” I asked.

“Correct,” Sebastian answered. Flashes of white lights flashed over his face. I turned in their direction and saw words in German flashing over the bright red ceiling. They went through too fast, but I caught some of the text saying something about war and questioning mankind. I jumped when I heard airplanes flying over my head. I could’ve sworn I heard Sebastian laughing at me. I turned to face him. He said something, but I caught hear him over the bombing and planes. Fires appeared over his face over the lights. Under the screaming and wailing, he pulled me into his arms.

“Sebastian?” I asked.

My date pressed his lips against mine. My eyes darted around the room. I could’ve sworn that I heard my heart pounding against my chest. My whole body went limp in his arms. I realized that I didn’t want him to stop. I drew my eyes closed.

Love me. Please love me!

I felt so cold when he let go of me. Sebastian grabbed onto my hand and pulled me along with him. Around us, the red began to fade into a light pink. The paintings of curvaceous naked women made me blush. I mean, I am twenty-one and I have seen images of naked women before. But this…

A heavy hand patted me on the head as the screaming and airplanes faded into a soft harp playing over our heads. I looked up to see Sebastian smiling at me. I couldn’t read him under the pink lights and a woman reading German love poetry behind us. My date began to speak.

“What?” I asked. I still couldn’t hear him as we walked further down the display. I don’t know if he actually said this or if I wanted him to say it, but he said those three words that made me freeze all over.

“I love you.”

My brain just shut down. I don’t remember the rest of that strange exhibit. The sounds and colors blended into a faded background. I couldn’t even feel Sebastian’s hand moving me along. When the cool air hit me in the face, I looked around. It was then I realized that we were in a conference room.

Huh? It’s over already? What just happened?

I looked up to see Sebastian smiling at me. He took me by the cheeks.

“What did you think of the exhibit?” he asked. I slowly shook my head.

“I… I don’t know… I…” I was forced out of my mouth. He silenced me with another kiss.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,181 hits
