City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Five: Girls’ Night In)

Chapter Five: Girls’ Night In:

Sebastian had to work tonight. I felt a little sad when I got the text. I stared at my phone as I sighed. Stephanie grabbed me by the shoulders.

“What’cha doing?” she asked. My friend saw Sebastian’s text. “Oh.”  Stephanie took my phone out of my hand.

“Hey!” I shouted.

“”Forget about him right now,” she said. “This is our night.” My dear friend threw my friend across the room. I looked up at her. Stephanie broke into a big grin.

“Now with that out of the way,” she said. “What shall we do first?” I stared blankly.

“I don’t know,” I said. We were adult women. I’m not sure what grew women did on a “sleep over”. I didn’t drink and she said we wouldn’t going out tonight. Stephanie shook her head.

“That’s not going to cut it,” she said.

“Then what should we do?” I asked. My Aussie friend smiled.

“I brought some movies with me,” she said. “Comedy, romance, or mind-screw?”

“Uh… what do you have?” I asked.

SuperbadAirplaneThe HangoverWhen Harry Met SallyLove and Other DrugsEnter the Void, or Primer?”

I noticed my eyes. “When Harry Met Sally?”

“You sure?”

“Sure.”

“Alright.” Stephanie headed over to my TV and turned on the DVD player. I slid back on the couch as she put the disc into the machine. I turned my head as she joined me.

“How many times have we seen this movie?” I couldn’t help but ask. Stephanie shrugged her shoulders.

“I stopped counting a long time ago,” she said.

“Okay,” I said.

“Should we get snacks?”

“No, I’m good.”

“More for me then.” Stephanie got up and walked into my kitchen. I listened as she got to work with the popcorn. Knowing her, she probably has more beer hiding in my fridge. My crazy Aussie friend even snuck a wine cooler in my apartment one weekend.

“Steph,” I said.

“What?” she asked.

“Where do you keep getting all the booze?” I asked.

“Different places.”

“Why do you store them at my place?”

“Because I know they won’t get stolen. You don’t really drink alcohol.”

I turned and looked into the kitchen, frowning. “Why must you use me so much?”

“My roommates would drink up all my liquior in the flat. I keep it here because I know you won’t drink it all.”

I frowned and sighed. “Whatever.” Stephanie returned to the living room with her popcorn and beer.

“You ready now?” I asked.

“Yeah,” she said. I woke up the menu and hit play.

——–

After the movie, Stephanie turned to me.

“Hey, Em,” she said.

“Yeah?” I asked.

“Why do you like this movie so much?”

I shrugged and shook my head. “I forgot the reason now.”

“But you can’t stop watching it?”

“Sometimes.”

“Ah.”

“Don’t you have a movie like that?”

“Nope.”

I wrinkled my nose as I gave her a funny look. “What was that one movie that you couldn’t stop watching the summer we graduated?”

“Don’t know.”

“Oh, come on. You wouldn’t shut up about that movie. You acted like it was greatest thing on earth.”

“What are you talking about?”

“It was an 80’s movie. You about worn the DVD out.”

“Which 80’s movie?”

I rubbed my forehead. “Oh gosh. I can’t remember the name. It was puppets or animated. I think Jim Henson did it.”

Stephanie quickly turned her head. “Which Jim Henson work?” Oh, I said the magic words.”

“I don’t remember it.”

“Can’t you Google it?”

“My phone’s across the room somewhere.”

“Fine, I’ll do it.” Stephanie whipped out her phone and turned on the microphone. “Jim Henson’s movies.” I looked at the screen with her. Stephanie scrolled through the filmography with quick swipes.

“Slow down!” I said. “I want to look too!”

“Fine, fine,” she mumbled. After five minutes of looking, I spotted the poster on the small screen.

“There!” I said. “There’s the movie you were obsessed with!”

“Where?” Stephanie asked.

“There!” I said, pointing at the screen. She took a look and her eyes lit up.

“Oh!” she said. “Dark Crystal.”

“Yes, that’s one,” I said. “You wouldn’t shut up about it.”

“Oh yeah! I had forgotten about that. Great movie.”

“Do you still have the DVD to that?”

“Why yes, I do. I’m going to have to bring it over with me the next time I come over.” Stephanie smiled as another thought crossed her mind. “Ooo, I wonder if Sebastian seen The Dark Crystal. That would be a real treat.”

I sighed and rubbed my forehead. “The poor man. Please don’t put him through that.” Stephanie gave me a sweet, doe-eyed look.

“What?” she asked in a baby voice. I rolled my eyes and groaned.

“You tortured me by making me watch that movie every day in the summer before you went back to Australia,” I said. “Please don’t put that beautiful man through the same thing.”

“Aw, what?” she asked. “It wasn’t that bad! You survived all of the times you watched it with me! Besides, you started to enjoy The Dark Crystal after watching it a few times.”

“It’s called Stockholm Syndrome, my dear friend,” I said. We broke down into laughter. That moment felt just like old times in high school again. Stephanie handed me her bowl of remaining popcorn.

“Want some?” she asked. I waved smiled as I waved her off.

“Nah, I good,” I said. “Thanks, anyway.” Stephanie pulled back the bowl.

“Cool,” she said. “Shall we watch another movie?” I looked over at the clock in the kitchen.

“I don’t know,” I said. “I have to work in the morning.”

“Oh, come on,” she said. “One more movie won’t hurt. It won’t take too long, I promise.” My dear friend wouldn’t listen to me anyway. I dropped my shoulders.

“Fine, if it will make you happy,” I said.

“Sweet!” she said. Stephanie picked out the next movie and popped it into the DVD player. I turned to her as she settled back into her place.

“Why do you like Jim Henson so much, anyway?” I asked.

“I just do, my dear girl,” she said. “I just do.” I faced the screen as our second movie started playing. Okay, whatever you say.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 956 hits
