City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Three: Work Day in Berlin)

Chapter Three: Work Day in Berlin:

I have life outside of my friends, you know.

I have my job at Wings International. As you can guess, I work at the Berlin branch. Thursday was just another work day for me. When I got up, Sebastian was already gone. My heart sank at little when I found the living room empty. At least he left me a text before he went home. Why was I feeling that  way? We’re not even dating.

I shook those thoughts from my head. I have a work day to get through. Once I was ready, I headed out the door.

My day begin around seven o’clock. Our receptionist, Helga, waves at me while she’s on the phone. I wave back and head to the elevator. I tuned out the traditional German music as I rode up to the seventh floor. Suddenly, my phone buzzed. Ah, there it was. I smiled as I pulled out my phone. Two messages today? I dragged my finger across the screen to my inbox.

First message came from Steph as predict.

“Have a great day, girl! See ya this weekend!”

I covered my mouth as I giggled. But then, the second message came from Sebastian– again. The first text was about him having to leave my apartment to go to work. What could he want now? I tapped the screen on the message.

“Have a good day, Em. I will call you this evening.”

My heart stopped. Was my wish coming true? But why would he be so interested in me? It just felt so…

Ding! I lifted my head when the elevator doors opened. I slid my purse back into my purse and stepped out. Right away, a woman with long blonde stood inches away, smiling. She clapped her hands together when she spotted me.

“Emily!” the tall blonde woman said. “It’s so good to see you again.” I nervously smiled.

“Hello, Julia,” I said. She put her arm around my shoulders, preventing my escape.

“Ready for another exciting day of work?” she asked.

“I guess…” I mumbled. Please stop touching me. Instead, my smiling coworker dragged me away with her to our desks. Don’t get me wrong, Julia is a nice lady. But, she can be a bit too affectionate at times. She means well, I suppose. Julia finally let go of me when we reached our desks.

What do we do for a living? We are recruiters for the company. Basically, we help graduate students and teachers-in-training find jobs all over the world. I first joined Wings after I graduated from college. Six months later, I transferred to Berlin. Now, I am helping other people find jobs around the globe.

“Psst,” I heard across from me. When I looked up, I saw Julia grinning at me.

“What?” I asked.

“How was your weekend?” she asked.

I raised an eyebrow at her. “Why?”

“I love hearing stories about your friends.”

My eye twitched a little bit. Her fascination with Stephanie and Sebastian is almost creepy. Why was she so interested in them? Ever since I told Julia about my day off, she keeps asking about my Australian friend and my German crush. I ended up feeding more stories about them to my coworker. I should’ve stopped at jump. I don’t know why I keep telling her about them. I guess there’s no real harm about talking about my friends outside of work. It’s not like Julia asks me personal questions about them. As long as the questions stay okay, I guess it’s fine.

Julia leaned forward with a cat-like smile. “Well, what did you all do this weekend?”

I lowered my eyes as I started typing again. “They hung around at my place like they always do.”

“What did you do?” Julia asked.

“Not much. We stayed in my living room. Stephanie wanted some music, so I turned my TV with has the radio attached to it. Sebastian apparently likes swing music,” I said. My coworker whistled.

“Sebastian likes swing?” she asked.

“Yeah. He even got me to dance with him to it.” I looked up to see a twinkle in Julia’s eyes.

“You danced with him?”

“Yeah… Well, I stood on his feet the whole time.”

“Did you kiss him?”

“What?”

“Did you kiss Sebastian?”

“No…”

“Do you want to?”

Her question gave me pause. It donned on me that Stephanie and Sebastian had been pulling me along on this fast-paced ride that I barely had time to do any real thinking. I sat there, asking myself a normally easy question. Okay, what just happened? I looked at Julia with a clueless look on my face.

“What gave you that idea?” I asked. She leaned her right cheek on her hand.

“The way you talk about him,” my coworker said.

“Huh?”

“Your eyes twinkle when you about him. You make this Sebastian guy sound like the greatest man on the planet. You even blushed when you mentioned him just like you are doing now.”

“What?” I reached into my purse and pulled out a pocket mirror. My cheeks were redder than a tomato. Oh crap. I jerked my head upwards when I heard laughing. Julia smiled and shook her head.

“Don’t tell me you haven’t noticed,” she said.

“It’s not that,” I said. “It’s just…”

“What?” Julia asked with curious look on her face. I shook my head. What am I saying? It made a lot more sense in my head. I finally dropped my head.

“Just forget it,” I mumbled.

“But how do you feel about this Sebastian guy?” she asked. “Is he even single?” I lifted my head with a blank stare.

“I think so…” I said.

She raised her eyebrow. “You don’t know?”

“I haven’t asked.”

“What do you know about him?”

I rubbed my forehead as I tried to remember. “Well… He works as a freelance photographer, he likes swing and Jacob’s coffee, and he’s bisexual. Um… Um…” I gave Julia a sheepish grin. “That’s about it.” Julia smiled and shook her head at me.

“What?” I asked.

“Nothing,” she said. “Nothing at all.” My coworker went back to typing on her computer. I frowned as I went back to work as well.

I had no idea that Julia’s questions would push me further into Stephanie and Sebastian’s wild world.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,313 hits
