City Lounge: Berlin (Book Two, Chapter Two: Sebastian)

Chapter Two: Sebastian:

Who is this guy?

This evening, he just came by my apartment unannounced. I had just finished dinner and was about to clean up the kitchen when my doorbell rang. At first, I found myself rather confused. It was Wednesday and my neighbors didn’t talk to me that much to stop by.

“Who is it?” I asked.

“It’s only me,” a muzzled response came out through the speaker in German. My dishrag fell onto the floor.

No way… That can’t be… I ran to the front door. When I peeked outside, there he was. My jaw dropped.

“Sebastian?” I asked as I opened the door.  “What are you doing here?”

“I came here to see you,” he replied. I stared at him, wide-eyed before I pinched myself in the cheeks. I looked around outside.

“Where’s Stephanie?” I asked.

“I came here alone,” he said. I stepped back with my hand over my mouth.

“Does she know you’re here?”

“No.” That little answer was all it took to send me spiraling. It’s just going to be him and me… alone? Sebastian raised his eyebrow.

“Aren’t you going to let me in?” he asked. My face turned bright red. I couldn’t speak, but my body moved aside.

“Thank you,” he said, bowing his head. I turned mine as he walked by. What just happened? As if under a spell, I closed the door behind us. Sebastian sat down on my couch. My heart pounded against my chest. Why am I acting like this? I’m twenty-one years old, not a teenage girl. I mean we’re both adults, right? It’s not were going to have sex right away. Right?

I happened to see Sebastian looking back at me.

“What?” I asked.

“Is something the matter?” he asked back. I quickly shook my head.

“No, no!” I said. “Whatever gave you that impression?”

“Did I come at a bad time?”

“No! It’s just…” I lowered my eyes. “I didn’t expect anyone to be coming over tonight.”

Sebastian tilted his head. “Would it be better if I came back some other time then?” I didn’t what was going on in my mind when I said this.

“No!” I was quick to say. He blinked at me.

“No?” he asked. I took in a breath as my cheeks turned tomato red.

“No… Please… Stay.”

“You sure?”

“Yes!” What was happening? Before I could catch on, things already sped ahead of me. I barely had to time to get myself settled. Sebastian smiled as he shrugged.

“If you say,” he said. Why must his beautiful face make me so confused? I rubbed my forehead. Okay, time to change the subject.

“Would you like some coffee or something?” I asked.

“Sure,” Sebastian said. I took in a deep breath. Right… I quickly cleaned up the kitchen. I looked through the cabinets when I calmed down. Let’s see. I know I bought some coffee last week. Where did I put it? I think it might be over the sink. I pulled out a foot stool and began looking. When I opened the cabinet, I smiled.

Ah, there you are.

I pulled out the bag and got to work. For some reason, making coffee calms me down. I remembered the day I got this machine. Grandma bought this for me as a going away present. This machine was a product of Germany. I began humming and dancing around to the sounds of my little coffee machine. For a second, I felt like I was back home.

Sadly, I came back to reality when I heard someone laughing.

I froze to see Sebastian looking at me from the doorway. My face turned bright red.

“Oh,” I said in a low voice. I didn’t know whether to cry or run away. Sebastian only smiled at me.

“That coffee smells good,” he said.

“Thanks…”

“What brand is it?”

“Jacobs.”

“Jacobs?”

“Yeah. My grandparents used to drink it before they came to America.” My eyes traced back to the coffee pot brewing behind me. Sebastian gently pushed me aside and walked over to the pot. Curious, I followed behind.

“Mmm,” he said. “I love this scent.” That beautiful man turned around. “Your grandparents had great tastes.”

“Thanks. I have never tried it myself.”

“Really?”

I slowly nodded my head. Sebastian’s eyes made my heart flutter in my chest. He gently patted me on the head.

“Care to partake with me?” he asked. I couldn’t say a word as my coffee machine came to a stop. Sebastian smiled and walked over to my cabinets.

“Where do you keep your mugs?” he asked. My mouth opened as I pointed to the cabinet over the sink.

“Thank you,” he said. Sebastian opened the cabinets and pulled out two mugs, one white and the other yellow. His movements were so graceful as he pulled out the pot and poured the coffee. The strong smell was enough to bring me out of it. Sebastian held up the white mug.

“To Berlin,” he said.

“To Berlin,” I said back. We toasted and took a sip. The bitter taste made me reel back, but I tried to hold it with a bitter look on my face. I glanced up at Sebastian as he took a slow sip from his mug.

“Not used to bitter things?” he asked. I shook my head as I tried to swallow the taste of my mouth. He smirked as he set down his mug on the small island. That beautiful man picked up a big red apple from my fruit bowl and took a bite. He didn’t do it in a normal way, either. He kept his azure eyes on me the whole time. His gaze wouldn’t let me look away. The cool heat made my heart beat out of my chest. He was teasing me, wasn’t he? My own heat buzzed around my bright red ears. Sebastian’s smirk over the fruit made my knees melt. The final gut punch to my desire came when he took a bite into that fat, red apple. I gulped as he chewed and swallowed. He handed me the other side to me.

“This will is sweet enough to chase away the bitter taste,” Sebastian said. I leapt forward and took a bite. I must have acted like I hadn’t eaten in months. When my eyes met with Sebastian’s, I lowered my eyes as I chewed on the apple.

“Better?” he asked. I quickly nodded. Sebastian gave me a little flirty smile.

“You know what would go better with coffee? Music,” he said. “Could you turn on the swing music again? It was really nice.” I looked at him confused as I swallowed the bite of apple. It took a little bit before his words sunk in.

“Sure,” I said. I turned and walked into the living room. I have to admit, I didn’t expect to spend my Wednesday evening drinking bitter coffee, eating apples, and playing swing with a hot German man that shouldn’t exist in reality. But, I found myself wishing that it didn’t have to end.

It made wonder how far did things tend to go between us.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 956 hits
