City Lounge: Paris (Book Two, Chapter Fourteen: Blue High)

Chapter Fourteen: Blue High:

I stirred awoke when someone shook me on the shoulder. I drew open my eyes to see Simone staring back at me. My vision was blurry without my glasses as I blinked.

“Simone?” I asked. “You’re still here, why?”

“Get up,” she whispered. “I have to show you something.” Her words woke me up to confusion.

“Huh?” I asked. The Indigo Queen grabbed me by the shoulder and tried to pull me off my bed. My face hit the floor.

“Whoa!” I shouted. “What the hell?!”

“Get up and get dressed,” Simone said. “I have a way to help solve your problems.” I tilted my head, blinking.

“Huh?” I asked. Simone bounced around as she tapped her foot.

“I can’t explain it in words,” she said. “Just hurry up!” Even when agitated, she had a strange power over me. I stared at her dazed as I rose to my feet.

“Okay…” I mumbled. I walked over to my closet and started to get dressed. Simone walked out my room and stood in the hall. The whole thing felt surreal. Am I dreaming right now? I pinched myself in the cheek and peeked out of my room. Simone paced around until she noticed me.

“You ready yet?” she asked.

“Just about,” I said. “I just need to throw on a shirt.”

“Well, hurry up,” the Indigo Queen said. “We have to get there before the sun is up.”

“Okay, okay,” I said. “Is it really that important?”

“Yes,” she said.

“Alright,” I said. After I put on my shirt, I stepped out on the hall. Simone grabbed me by the hand and led me down the hall.

——–

Paris looked so empty around one in the morning. It almost felt like it was haunted. My eyes shifted left and right as I tried to piece together what we were doing now. I didn’t feel like partying and I had this creepy vibe as we kept walking down the abandoned street. Simone walked like a thirty horse to a lake.

“Hey, Simone,” I said. She didn’t respond or turn around. I nervously laughed as I kept my eyes on her back. My eyes trailed down her slender, tan calves.

“Where exactly are we going?” I asked. She still wouldn’t answer. I should be used to this by now, but tonight let me with a sinking feeling. We finally walked up to this small booth that looked like it was closed for the early morning hours. Simone walked up to the glass and knocked on it. All I could see from where I stood was a small slot opening up. Simone leaned and started talking to whoever was inside. I could probably make out she was saying because her tone was so hushed. She handed the person inside the booth two big crisp euros. In return, the Indigo Queen picked a small baggie of blue pills. She turned to me with a big grin on her face.

“What is that?” I asked against my better judgement.

“A little pick me up,” Simone said. She opened the baggie and took out a pill. “Open your mouth.” I quickly shook my head.

“No…” I said.

“Come on.”

“I don’t do drugs.”

“This is not a drug. Trust me.” Simone came within inches of my face. My lips slowly parted as if I waited for her to kiss me. Instead, she placed the pill on the tip of my tongue. I closed my mouth and swallowed.

It didn’t hit me in a big way. My trip started out in a small wave. I remembered hitting really hit. I panted as my body started getting hot. My vision began to blur up behind my glasses.

“Simone, what did you give me?” I asked. She said something, but her voice sounded so far away. I think I asked her what she said, but even my voice sounded so far away. I began stumbling backwards.

Right away, so many things began flooding back to my drugged up, confused mind. The day I met Paula.

Marie’s customers in Cafe de Marie.

Bright colors.

The stars in the Paris sky.

Paula when she broke up with me.

The first time Paula and I slept together.

Simone and I dancing together in that club for the first time.

What… is this?

The images started to skip around faster. Mom and I leaving Dad with I was a child.

Mom and Dad yelling at each other.

The eyes of another woman looking at me as she kissed my Dad in darkened room.

The bullies beating me up in third grade.

The fields in Texas.

A naked Simone leaning in for a kiss.

A naked Paula leaning in for a kiss.

Mom sitting at the kitchen table, crying of a glass of whiskey.

The ringing in my ears got worse with the pounding in my head. I couldn’t understand why I kept seeing all of these images. My breathing grew heavier as the images started to blend together.

Simone’s nails scratching against my chest.

Paula dumping me again.

My coworkers’ stupid faces staring at me.

Flashes of indigo blending in with Simone’s hair.

Hugo with his ladies.

The bullies.

Paula and I walking around Paris for the first time.

Simone and I spending the whole walking around Paris together.

Simone promising to make me forget about Paula.

More bright colors.

My first crush who’s name escapes me.

The images grew too much for me to keep up with the more they replayed themselves in my head, the fuzzier they became. Objects began to swimming around me. I could barely hear anything anymore. I stuck out my arm to see if I could catch onto something, anything. The clouds in my head grew too thick. I could’ve sworn that I could smell my hair burning. Make it stop. Make it stop!

Suddenly, everything went silent. I jerked my eyes wide open.

The last thing I could remember before blacking out was rushing forward and kissing Simone on the lips desperately and passionately.

And then…

Nothing.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,076 hits
