City Lounge: Paris (Book Two, Chapter Twelve: Contempt)

Chapter Twelve: Contempt:

For every day of heaven I spend with my Simone, I end up back in hell with Paula at work. Today was no different.

This weekend, there is a huge project coming up for the company. Paula, Alexis, and I are working on a huge part. Already, this morning got off to a bad start. It was just Paula and I at our desks as usual. In the old days, I would be happy to look up and see her working at her computer. I couldn’t wait to go home with her and do it all again.

Today, not so much.

I glared at the traitor at her computer. Look at her, all intent in her work. Seeing her face makes me want to puke. She is so fake! I may not know much about Simone, but she doesn’t try to lie to me. I can’t help but wonder if she had been playing me all along.

“Is there a problem?” she asked. I blinked at her at first.

“Pardon?” I asked.

“You keep staring at me like you want me to burst into flames,” Paula said.

“Do I?”

“Yes.”

“I wonder why…” I clicked send on my e-mail.

“Will you get over it already?” she asked.

“I am. But when I see your face, I just get so mad all over again. I know that I have to suck it up because we work together, but you aren’t making it any easier, woman.”

“Will you get over yourself?”

“Oh, I am, trust me. But you always put me back to square one.”

Paula rolled her eyes. “Grow up.”

“Oh, I am. You’re the problem.”

“How?”

“You just are.”

“Will.”

“I’m not the one who cheated, you are.”

“You’re back to that again?”

“Yes!” I glared as Paula rolled her eyes at me. “Oh, don’t roll your eyes at me. You know you’re the cause of this mess!”

“Get over it, already!”

“Oh, I want to. Trust me.” We only paused when we heard the door open. Alexis stood in the doorway. He looked at us with a puzzled look on his face.

“Is something the matter?” he asked.

“No,” Paula said.

“Yes,” I said. Our coworker shrugged and walked over to his desk. He brought into a grin that made me want to punch him in the face.

“Are we ready for another work day, friends?” he asked. Paula and I looked at him, shouting “shut up” with our eyes. His grin broke into a nervous one.

“Okay then…” he said. I listened as he booted up his computer. “I sense some animosity in the room. Are you sure you guys are okay?”

“No,” I said with a cold look on my face.

“Yes,” Paula said, gritting her teeth.

“Right…” he said. Alexis drove into tying on his computer. I puffed up my cheeks and pushed my hair from my glasses. This was going to be another long work day.  I’m stuck between a fool and a traitor. Welcome to hell, folks. But, what can I do? I have to suck it up and get through this day. At least, I will have that Indigo queen to make the pain go away. I only wish that it would come faster. I looked down at the clock on my computer screen. It’s only 8:15? Damn it.

I tried to make myself stay focused on my computer screen. It’s turned into a bet for myself. Each day, I would try and see how long I could without looking at Paula. I already failed today, but that didn’t stop me from trying again. I will not let her get to me again. I breathed in heavily.

“Will. Will,” I heard someone calling me. “Will. Will. Will!” I flinched and jerked my head upwards.

“What?!” I asked. Alexis gave me a goofy look as he pointed at his screen.

“You sent me the introductory page twice,” he said.

“Huh?” I asked. I clicked on my sent folder and looked through the top message. My eyes widened when I looked at the attachments in the e-mail.

“Oh,” I muttered.

“Do you have the first page?” he asked.

“Sure, hang on,” I said. I went through the folder in my external hard drive labeled “Recruitment Project” and looked through the documents I worked through for the past five days. Once I located the file, I started up a new e-mail, attached the file, and sent it off again.

“Got it?” I asked.

“Got it,” Alexis repeated. I breathed and turned back to my computer to work on the PowerPoint presentation. To my dismay, I happened to catch a quick glance of Paula shaking her head at her computer. I clicked my tongue and started typing harder. It didn’t help that Alexis sat inches away from Paula and didn’t know how to shut up. It took all of my self control not to get up and strangle that big idiot with all of my might. I took in heavy breaths and tried to gather my thoughts. When I looked down at the clock on the lower right-hand corner of the screen it felt like another kick to my stomach.

9:04? 9:04? Are you kidding me?

Lunch breaks were the only time that I could get away from those two. Hiding was a pathetic thing to do, but it was the only way that I could keep my sanity together. I rubbed my forehead as I sat alone in the cafeteria. Just a few more hours to go before I was out of here again. You know, Paula and I used to sit together and have lunch. We would act like a lovey-dovey couple with giggling, conversation, and inside jokes. Now, that traitor hangs around with different female coworkers at lunch. I munched on my fondant potatoes as the burn flared up again. Even though I had improved with my cooking skills, my lunch tasted so bitter. I had a hard time of keeping it from going back up my throat.

I still had to more hours of this work day to go too? I closed my eyes and shook my head as I shuddered.

Simone promised that she would make me forget all about Paula. I wish the spell would work faster on me. I don’t know how much longer I could take of this crap.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
