City Lounge: Paris (Book Two, Chapter Nine: A Touch of Class)

Chapter Nine: A Touch of Class:

Simone invited me out to somewhere fancy tonight. Okay, I can take a touch of class. She called me up after I made it to work.

“Hey, babe,” Simone said on the other line. My heart jumped into my throat. I shouldn’t be surprised that the witch’s spell could reach me other the phone.

“Simone!” I yelped outside of the glass doors. “Did I forget something at your place?”

“No,” she said.

“No?” I asked.

“No.”

A puzzled look came onto my face. “Then… what is it?”

“A friend of mine is having a restaurant opening tonight,” she said. “I’m supposed to be working, but I don’t mind taking a date along with me.” I don’t know how she does it. The more I stay with her, the harder it is that I find to say no.

“When?” I asked.

“I’ll pick you up at six at your place,” she said. “And wear a suit.” I whistled over the phone.

“Okay,” I said.

“Great, I will see you then,” Simone said. I looked at my phone. Somewhere fancy, huh? I had a hard time picturing that with Simone for some reason. She came across as a care-free party girl. Marie and Emilie seemed like the more elegant type. Emilie even more so with those pearls she’s always wearing with her dress suits. In fact, she looks like an older, more elegant version of Simone. (Don’t get me wrong, Simone is beautiful in her own right. I’m talking about different levels here.)

Also, who was this friend Simone had? She seemed to be well-connected around this city. Who else was she friends with? Did that Indigo Queen have any celebrity friends? It would seem pretty stupid to ask. I guess I will have to see for myself. I forced myself to calm down before walking in for work.

———

Six o’clock came around. I put on my best dress suit that I could find. This gray one shouldn’t be too bad, right? I mean, I’m not going to meet royalty or the prime minister. It’s just a nice, classy dinner out. I brushed down my hair a little bit and smiled. Yeah, this should be fine.

Suddenly, the doorbell rang.

“Coming!” I shouted. I ran down to the front door. Simone looked up while playing with her indigo braids. Her long ivory dress hugged her curves under the overhead light. My eyes were directed to the diamonds on her abdomen.

“Good evening,” I said.

“Ello,” Simone said.

“You look beautiful!”

“Thank you, you don’t look bad yourself.”

I blushed as I rubbed the back of my head. Why do I feel so small next to her?

“Ready to go?” Simone asked.

“Yes!” I was quick to say. Simone giggled as I held out my arm. She linked hers in mine and we headed off.

“You’re not scared of heights, are you?” that Indigo queen asked.

“No,” I said. “Why?”

“Good,” was all that she would say. I raised an eyebrow at her.

———

When she said fancy restaurant, I didn’t expect all of… this. The only colors of the guests’ clothing were black and white. I’m too poor to even rent a tux. Classical music floated above our heads. A hostess in a black and white dress showed people to their tables. I got a look around as Simone dealt with our table arrangements. When we stepped into this restaurant, it felt like I had just walked into a club for a high class society in the future. I tried to place the scent of incense or perfume in the entrance. (I was thinking french vanilla or lavender.) I pinched myself in the cheeks, but this wasn’t a dream. Even under the light blue lighting, I felt under dressed. I looked down at my suit. Maybe I should have bought a new one last year.

My Indigo queen waltzed over to me with a number in her hand.

“Let’s get a table upstairs,” Simone whispered in my ear. “My friend already booked the reservation.” I followed her through the crowd dressed in their fanciest wear. Silk paintings covered the walls. I happened to look down and notice a small camera in Simone’s hand. That’s right, she said that she was supposed to be working today.

“Is this for an article or something?” I asked when she reached the pale white stairs.

“You can say that,” Simone replied. She held out her free hand. “Stay by me, okay? Everyone wants to go to the top floor.” I squeezed her hand and we began walking again.

“How many floors are in this restaurant?” I asked.

“Let’s just say that you can see the city from the top floor,” she said.

“Are you serious?” I asked. That indigo queen pulled me through the crowd to a small white elevator. I counted down to where this adventure was heading to. Knowing her, if I asked more questions, she would stop me in my tracks and say that I would have to see for myself. Okay then, I will play along with her game.

When the elevator doors opened, I could feel a warm breeze hit me in the face. The sky looked so bright through the glass ceiling. The people sat eating their dinners at tables covered in white tablecloths. Only the evening light and lit candles on sat tables lit up the room. The only sounds I could hear was from the floor underneath our feet.

“Come on,” Simone said. “We’re over near the back.” I followed her before I had a chance to speak up. What else do I not know about this seductive witch? She appeared to be a wild child who loved sex and to party. Tonight, even her indigo braids looked classy with that dress with no back to her mid-back. Looking at her made me feel so tiny next to her.

“Simone,” I said before we sat down.

“Hm?” she asked. I tried to think of something to say, but I ended up shaking my head.

“It’s nothing,” I said at last. She looked at me with a dreamy look in her deep brown eyes. Her face made me what to melt with our white candle on the table. Not even the waiter walking over to our table couldn’t break up our mood. I don’t even remember what I ordered that night. I was just lost with Simone once again. She was probably even planning on what we were doing tomorrow night.

Already, I can’t wait to see what that is.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
