City Lounge: Paris (Book Two, Chapter Five: Simone, Up, and Down)

Chapter Five: Simone, Up, and Down:

-Saturday Morning-

I woke in my bed from yesterday evening. I rubbed my forehead as I looked around.

“Where am I?” I muttered.

“Your place,” I heard someone answer. I looked and saw Simone sitting at the foot of my bed.

“So good to see you awake,” she said. I tilted my head.

“You dragged me home yesterday?” I asked.

“I had to. It wouldn’t be right to leave you laid out in the shop.”

I looked at her with big eyes. “What happened to me?”

“You drank your coffee too fast.”

“Coffee?”

“Yes.”

I tilted my head before it donned on me. “Oh…”

“Yes. You drank it too fast. You’re not supposed to do that.”

“I’m not?”

“No.” She smiled when she said that. I began to remember the activities in that shop. I looked that Indigo Queen in her the eyes.

“What did he put in the coffee?” I asked. Simone leaned with a smile.

“Mild hallucinations,” she said. All of the color drained from my face.

“What?!” I yelped.

“It’s not that strong if you don’t drink it too quickly.” She noticed the shocked look on my face. “What?”

“Simone, do you…?”

She put her finger to my lips. “No. I’m not a drug addict. I only drink the coffee once every month.” I wanted to believe her. Again, something about her voice commanded me to do so. I didn’t really know much about this woman. But, I can’t turn away. I gave up on trying to figure out the why.

“You stayed in my place all night?” I asked.

“Did you expect me to leave?” Simone asked. I slowly shook my head. I didn’t know what to expect actually. That’s what it’s become between us. She leads, I follow. But why?

“Are you working today?” Simone asked.

“I don’t think so,” I said. “Why?”

“No reason.”

“Are you working today?”

“I sort of am.”

“Huh?”

“I have to go by a develop my photographs and send them off to the clients.”

“Okay… Hey, Simone.”

“Hm?”

I shook my head. “Never mind.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah.” How could I come out and ask it to that Indigo Queen? The words never wanted to come out of my mouth. Simone shrugged.

“Okay,” she said. She climbed off of the bed and walked out of the room. Simone paused at the doorway.

“I’ll call you later, okay?” she asked. I don’t know why I said the next thing. Maybe she had that kind of power over me. Maybe I was back in a confusing. But, I reached out as she started to walk away.

“Simone, wait!” I said. That Indigo Queen turned and looked at me with an eyebrow raised.

“Hm?” she asked.

“Stay!” I said. Simone slowly turned around.

“You sure?” she asked. I pressed my lips together. What the hell was I doing? I didn’t seem to know how to stop either.

“Yes!” I said. “Stay.”

“Okay,” she said. She’s just like that. I moved my mouth up and down, but sound wasn’t coming out.

“Cool,” was I that ended up saying. My stomach growled in my struggling silence. My cheeks turned a light red.

“What would you like to eat?” Simone asked. I nodded as if my head was on strings.

“What would you like?” she asked.

“I don’t know,” I said. “Anything sounds good.”

“I know just the thing,” Simone said. “Wait here.” The Indigo Queen walked out of my room and disappeared down the hall. I sat with a puzzled look on my face. Okay, now what?

Thirty minutes later, Simone returned with a small box in her hand.

“Here you are,” she said. “One fresh croissant with sweet butter and café au lait. I couldn’t get the fruit because I didn’t know which one you wanted.”

“This is fine,” I said. I took a bite into the croissant. “This is good. Where did you get this?”

“A small vendor down this street,” Simone said, stretching her arms above her head. “This neighborhood has interesting finds.”

“Does it?” I asked. She gave me a rather confused look.

“You haven’t taken a look?” the Indigo queen asked.

“No,” I said, shaking my head. She sat down on my bed and tilted my head.

“Well, we’re going to have to change all of that,” Simone said. I raised an eyebrow as I was chewing.

“Right now?” I asked.

“Well, you have to finish your breakfast first, of course,” she said. The next day from that coffee adventure that knocked me out and she’s already planning our next adventure. Did this girl ever want to slow down? Why does she seem to want to drag me along with her? I nodded.

“Okay,” I said. I took another bite of my croissant. She’s watching me eat. Why? That’s what icky couples do. Or could she…

“Hey,” I said again.

“Hm?” Simone asked. At first, the words refused to come out, but I was determined that to hesitate this time. I was going to push out the words one way or another.

“Are you seeing anyone right now?” I asked.

“Yes,” she said without missing a beat. My heart sank a little, but that didn’t stop me for some reason.

“Who?” I asked. Simone poked me on the tip of my nose.

“You,” she said in a low voice. I am choked on the last of my croissant.

“I’m sorry… Did you say that you were seeing me?” I asked.

“Yes,” Simone said.

“In what way? I mean… Are we causal? Serious? Just… What are we?” She pulled my face closer to hers.

“It can be whatever you want it to be,” that Indigo Queen said  in a low voice. She planted a small, gentle kiss on my lips. My face and ears felt like they were on fire.

“Have you had breakfast yet?” I asked when she pulled away.

“Yes, I ate before you woke up,” Simone said. “We just haven’t had any fruit yet.”

“Is that important?” I asked.

“But of course,” she told me. “After all, fruit is at its best in the morning.” Her tone and voice made that offer sound even more convincing. Well okay, my Indigo Queen. Show me this magical fruit that you claim is best at morning.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
