City Lounge: Paris (Book Two, Chapter Two: Work Day)

Chapter Two: Work Day:

It’s going to another boring day at work. Plus, I have to face the traitor. I glanced over from my computer screen to see Paula staring at her computer. She didn’t even try to look at me. I wasn’t as bitter was I was about a week and half ago. Despite the pain, I tried to smile and put up with working with the ex.

“Did you see the boss’ e-mail yet?” I asked.

“No, not yet,” Paula said, not looking up. I don’t know what to do with her yet. At first, I was too mad to even think about it. Now, I am just in limbo, I think…

“What did it say?” she asked.

“Huh?” I asked, glancing up again.

“What did the e-mail say?” Paula asked.

“Oh. Something about a new project the agency is planning.”

“Is there a meeting today?”

I rolled my eyes. “It’s all in the e-mail. You can check it yourself.”

“Okay, you don’t have to be bitter about it.”

I raised my eyebrow. “Did I sound bitter just now?”

“Yes.”

“Well I didn’t mean to sound like that.” Despite the frosty atmosphere between Paula and I, nothing at work had changed. I could already predict how this day would go. My mind wandered to what Simone was doing right now. Something about her holding a camera appealed to me. Last night, she showed off her camera collection. Her favorite was the one that her father left her mother before he headed back to Switzerland. Simone also showed off her photo collection. She kept them all in albums that she kept in the living room bookcase. I don’t think I had seen so many photo taken so beautifully.

“Can I have some of these?” I asked.

“Maybe,” Simone said, smiling. I looked up at her with a puzzled look on my face.

“What do you mean, maybe?” I asked. She only gave me a quick kiss on the lips.

I leaned back in my desk chair as my mind further got lost in Simone’s world. How could such a woman like her even exist? Sometimes, I have to pinch myself to make sure that she wasn’t a fantasy I dreamed to cope with being dumped by the traitor working across from me. My only worry was how long would this fever dream last before it came crashing down for me. Excuse me for sounding like a Debbie Downer, but in my life, every time something goes great for me, something else disastrous comes along and bites me in the ass. I’m trying not to think about it this time.

But I still don’t know what we are.

I jumped when I heard a loud slam against my desk. When I turned around, Alexis stood over me with that dumb smile that he always has on his face.

“It’s not good to be daydreaming on the job,” he said. “You will become lazy and end up turning into a toad. And then you be roasted for a big man’s dinner.”

“I doubt that’s even possible,” I said. I don’t know whether I want to punch that blonde ponytail-wearing man in the face sometimes or not. Alexis wasn’t a bad guy, though.

“It could be,” he said.

“Did you want something?” I asked. Alexis thought about that for a minute.

“Oh yeah, we have a meeting at noon,” he said.

“Uh… yeah…” I said. “I got that from the e-mail the boss sent this morning.” Alexis looked over at Paula at her computer.

“Hi, Paula,” he said. The traitor waved, but didn’t look up from her computer. Our coworker gritted his teeth as he nervously laughed. Yeah, everyone at work heard about my break-up with Paula. They all looked at me with sympathy. A couple of them tried to hook me up with their relatives. I thought about quitting work and looking for another job just to get away from those people. (I couldn’t find anything else in the end and I got distracted by Simone with her wild adventures.) Paula glanced up at Alexis.

“Is there anything you wanted?” she asked. That Frenchman with the ponytail took another moment to think.

“Um… no,” he said.

“Then could you please go back to work?” Paula asked as she clicked the button on her mouse. Alexis shrugged with that stupid smile on his face before he walked away. I turned back to the traitor with my eyebrow raised.

“Now who’s being the bitter-sounding one?” I asked.

“If he has time to come and talk to us, then he can get more work done,” the traitor said with her eyes locked to her screen.

“True, but you don’t have to be harsh about it,” I said.

“Well, he should be working.”

“When did you get so touchy?”

“Could you please be quiet, Will? I am trying to schedule a Skype interview with a potential client for next week.”

I rolled my eyes. “Yeah, yeah.” I sighed as I dove into typing. Work is so predictable that it’s boring. I was comfortable with this? It was then I started to realize that Simone was having a strong effect on me. Predictable and comfort began to bore me. But, I couldn’t leave my job. I can’t really do anything else. I was still struggling with my French, still didn’t know that many people here, and Wings International was the only way that I could stay in France without spending too much money to live.

But I’m so bored!

My phone buzzed in my bag. I quickly looked around before I reached inside. My heart stopped for a brief second when I saw the text message on my screen.

“I get off early today. What time do you get off of work”– Simone

My eyes grew wide. I don’t remember giving her my number. Did she copy it down while I wasn’t looking? Did I give it to her when I was drunk? It didn’t take long for my shock to wear off and my heart raced. This is… This is what I was looking for. I quickly looked around before I typed up a reply.

“I’m off at seven.”

Simone was quick to reply back. “I will pick you up then. I have a surprise for you.”

I don’t think I have ever worked that hard before in my life. Sure, I had people staring at me, but that didn’t stop me. Seven o’clock couldn’t have come fast enough. Still, Simone made my work day that much more bearable for a change. Just what adventure would that Indigo queen and I get into tonight?

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
