City Lounge: New York (Book One, Chapter Thirteen: This is Ian)

Chapter Thirteen: This is Ian:

-Hell’s Kitchen-

Ian put his earbuds in and turned on his camera.

“What’s up, world?” he asked. “Ian Clinton here. I’m about to show you a little bit of Hell’s Kitchen on a night like this while I talk about a little something that’s been on my mind.”

The aspiring director began his walk around his neighborhood.

“As you all know, gay marriage became legal all over the country two weeks ago,” he said.  “Great, but we in the gay community still have problems. Some states can still fire you for being gay. This state doesn’t do that if you are gay, lesbian, or bisexual. But not transgendered.”

A car roared by Ian as he walked.

“Shame New York, shame,” he said. “You’re supposed to be progressive.” Ian took a moment to film the cars going by on the street. One cab driver honked at him. The aspiring director gave him a quick wave.

“I know that guy,” he said. “He’s a hard nose, but really nice once you get to know him.” Ian began walking again.

“Anyway, unless you are in the military and the LGB of the LGBT community, you are screwed all over the country. But here in New York, we are better in more ways than one. Okay, it has some problems, but it’s better than Texas or the deep South.”

Ian stopped at the traffic light when he felt his phone vibrate in his pocket.

“Excuse me.” He turned off his music and pulled out his phone.

“Hello?” Ian asked.

“Ian?” a woman’s voice asked on the other line.

“Yes, Hayley?”

“Uh… I have a little problem…”

“Is it with Neil?”

“Sort of…”

“What is it? What did you do?”

“Mom is trying to set me up on a blind date… with a man.”

“Yikes! And how exactly does Neil fit in this equation?”

“Well… I think she has found where I live.”

“How did she manage that?”

“I don’t know. I thought I saw someone that look like her walking around my neighborhood.”

“How can you be sure that it was her? It could’ve been a tourist that got lost and looking for directions.”

“I don’t know. I was too freaked out to see. Mom happened to walk in hiding and peeking out the living room. She thought that I was acting strange and decided to set me up on a date.”

Ian rubbed his forehead. “And what do you want me to do about it?”

“Help me?”

“How?”

“I don’t know… Turn him gay or something. You seem to have that magical power to turn a straight guy gay.”

“Huh? Where did you hear that?”

“From Marilyn Monroe.”

Ian threw back his head and groaned as he crossed the street. “That big mouth! Steven was bisexual and confused to begin with! He just happened to find himself by the time I came along. You can’t blame me for that.”

“Sure…” Hayley said.

“Seriously,” he said. The aspiring director would have to have to talk with the drag queen when he spotted her. He pushed that thought out of his hand.

“So you want me to show up to wherever this date is going to be?” Ian asked.

“Sort of,” Hayley said. “You could just ‘run’ into us and turn on the charm for him.”

“When will this date be?”

“I think this Saturday.”

“Ooo! I thought I have an audition then. I don’t know how long it will run, though.”

“Can’t you swing by afterwards? Please? You know how my mom always picks out the desperate losers for me. Please? Please?”

He sighed and rolled his eyes over the phone by the time he reached the park. “Yay! I love you, you are the greatest!” Hayley hung by the time Ian sat down on the bench. He looked down at his phone and sighed.

“That was my dear friend, Hayley Watanabe, folks,” he said. “She’s having some problems with her love life. There’s this woman named Neil that she’s clearly in afraid of and in love with.” He sighed and shook his head.

“Elle and I don’t know what to do with her,” he said. “Hayley wants me to seduce her date so that she doesn’t have to date a man. I am going to get Marilyn for running her mouth again. She makes it sound like I am slut. I have standards, thank you very much!”

Ian took a moment to look around with the camera. Not many people are out here in this park so early in the morning. It didn’t bother him. Maybe the peace and quiet would let him be able to not think about Hayley, her love life, and Marilyn and focus back on his project at hand.

“I probably should cut up the whole bit where I was on the phone,” he said. Ian paused for a beat before turning the camera onto himself.

“Nah!” the aspiring director said. “I’m just going to stop here for now and recuperate.” Ian turned off his camera.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
