City Lounge: New York (Book One, Chapter Eleven: Walking the Streets)

Chapter Eleven: Walking the Streets:

-Brooklyn-

“You busy this Saturday?” Naomi asked as they walked through the streets of their Brooklyn neighborhood.

“Yeah,” Maggie said.

“Work again?”

“Yeah.”

“Bummer.”

“Some of have to work.”

Naomi put up her hands in a shrug. “Hey, I work too.”

“When was the last time you worked any photography job?”

“Last week.”

“Did you see any money from it?”

Naomi wrinkled her nose. “What are you, my mother?”

“Did you see any money from it?”

“Yes!”

“How much?”

“Really?”

“How much did you make?”

Naomi dropped her shoulders and groaned. “Fifty!”

Maggie nodded. “Okay then.”

The ladies waited to cross at the crosswalk. Naomi put her arms behind her head.

“That’s a shame, though,” she said. “Uncle Ray’s coming into town.” Maggie turned her head with big eyes.

“You serious?” she asked.

“Yep. He’s bringing his new wife with him.”

“New wife? How many has he had now?”

Naomi did a quick count on her hand. “I think this is wife number… three, I believe.”

“Three wives?”

“Hey, the first one, my aunt, died, remembered? He gets a pass on that one.”

Maggie nodded. “True.”

“Now Angela…” Naomi frowned and shook her head. “She was a bitch who just wanted money.”

“Hm… Which one is Angela again?”

“Dirty blonde hair to her shoulders. Wrinkles all over her face.”

“Was that the one who pretended to be pregnant or am I thinking of somebody else?”

“No, that was her.”

Maggie gave her friend a dirty look. “She was a nasty bitch.”

“Yeah.”

“Do you know anything about this third wife?”

“No.”

Maggie swung her fro around as she looked at her friend, wide-eyed. “What?!”

Naomi shrugged and shook her head. “He met her on Craigslist and they got married in Mexico.”

“I don’t like the sound of that.”

“I don’t know. As long as he’s happy, I won’t say anything.”

“But what about you?”

Naomi tilted her head. “What about me?”

“Don’t you want to get married soon? I mean, gay marriage is legal now and all.”

“Nah. Too much of a hassle. I’m not going to rush down the aisle just because I can now.”

“Aw, don’t say that. I can see you rocking a white pantsuit down the aisle.”

“And do you want to get married?”

“Me?” Maggie quickly shook her head. “Oh, no! No!”

Naomi put her hands on her hips. “And why not?”

“I don’t even like living with me sometimes. How do you think some man is going to have to deal with me?”

“Good point.” Both women laughed before heading into their favorite sandwich to pick their dinners for the evening.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
