City Lounge: New York (Book One, Chapter Four: The Comic Girl)

Chapter Four: The Comic Girl:

-Bonx-

Hayley looked through her big olive green shoulder bag. Pencils, eraser, drafts, pens, drawing pad, colored ink, iPod, snacks, and her water. She adjusted the strap on her shoulder.

“I’m leaving now,” she said.

“Okay!” her mom shouted from the kitchen. Her father sat in his recliner watching TV. Hayley walked out the door. It always felt welcome to step out of that apartment. Her parents made her feel like she was chocking, but she couldn’t afford her own place at the moment. So, Hayley would lock herself in her room after work for the most part.

She pulled out her phone and dialed up the first number she thought of for the day.

“Hello?” a woman asked on the other line.

“Elle!” Hayley said.

“Hey, Hayley,” the other woman said. “You off to work again?”

“Yeah. What are you doing today?”

“Not much. I have an audition today.”

“Ooo, for what part?”

“I’m Dorothy from Emerald City.”

Hayley made a strange face. “I don’t see you as Dorothy.”

“This play will have a sci-fi, action, adventure twist.”

“Ah.”

“Have you finished that comic yet?”

“I am a bit stuck right now.” Hayley stopped at her crosswalk light on red. She looked so short compared to the people waiting to cross.

“What are you stuck on?”

She rubbed the back of her head. “I have the main heroine confess her love to her my other main heroine, but the object of her affection is getting married to someone else.”

“How does she feel about them?”

“I’m not too sure. He’s nice… I suppose. She really wants to be with my main girl, but she doesn’t want to hurt the guy in any way.”

“Nightmare.”

“Yeah, I know.” The light changed to walk. Hayley seemed to disappear into the walking crowd of tall people in suits until she broke away from them. It took like a jump and a jog. She turned the corner to take her usual shortcut.

“My boss wants a sad ending,” Hayley said. “She wants my main girl to lose the love of her life and kill herself.”

“That doesn’t fit with the character,” Elle said.

“I know,” the other woman said. “But it wouldn’t feel right for cop-out happy solution for the love story angle for the comic.”

“Well, what do you want?”

Hayley titled her head as she stood in front of her place of business. She frowned after some thought. “I have no idea. I want her to be happy, but I don’t want to go to cliche town either. You know what I mean?”

“Yeah, I guess…”

“What should I do?”

“It’ll come to you. I have to go they called us up to start the auditions.”

“Good luck.”

“Thanks, bye.”

Hayley looked at her phone before she looked up at the editing studio looking right to devour her. She shifted her shoulders and took a deep breath. The comic artist looked so stiff as marched up to the glass doors and walked inside.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
