City Lounge: New York (Book One, Chapter Three: Gay Marriage is Now Legal (Hurray!))

Chapter Three: Gay Marriage is Now Legal (Hurray!):

-Soho, Manhattan-

Izzie sat at her computer, smirking at the good news. A pair of strong arms came up behind her and pulled her into an embrace. She playfully tried to push the kisses away.

“Stop!” Izzie said, giggling. Kris rested his chin atop her head.

“What’cha reading?” he asked.

“Gay marriage is legal all over the country now.”

“I see.”

“It’s not really surprising, I mean it’s been legal in this since 2011. I’m amazed it took this long to become legal all over America.”

Kris walked over to the black futon on the other side of the room and flopped down.

“Hey, Izzie.”

“Yeah?”

“Do you want to get married?”

“No.”

Kris gave her a puzzled look. “Why is that?”

Izzie kept her eyes glued to the screen. “Then I would have to choose. I love you and Diane. I told you before, I do not do just one relationship. Marriage makes you choose.”

“But don’t you want to get married one day?”

“What are you, my grandma?”

“I’m just asking.”

“What’s so great about getting married anyway? It’s a waste of money. I don’t understand couples have to spend so much dough for one day. Women fight over one dress that they are just going to wear for one day. Some even grab a whole rack of dresses. And for what? Just to dress up and swear yourself to some person that you might or not want to stay with forever? It’s all just pointless.”

“But some girls dream of a romantic wedding.”

“I’m not some girls.”

“Well, what do you think about those that say they don’t want to get married until gays can get married?”

“What do they mean by that? Gays in their country? Gays all over the world? What do they mean by that?”

Kris shrugged. “I… I… I don’t know.”

“It doesn’t make sense to me.” Izzie resumed typing on her laptop. “There’s another thing I just remembered.”

“Oh?”

“We can’t drop the ‘gay’ out of ‘gay marriage’ yet.”

“And why is that?”

“Russia treats the LGBT like crap. Most of South America is open to gay marriage. Japan is warming up to gay marriage. Australia is still on the fence. Asia is dragging its feet. Only Europe, Mexico, the US, and Canada have legalized gay marriage completely. The other worse place is Africa.”

“But Africa is a content.”

“It doesn’t matter. It’s still a nightmare for the LGBT over there. The biggest two that need to change their views on the LGBT are Africa and Russia. Mozambique is fighting to legalize being gay.”

“Okay, okay, what is the point you are trying to make?” Kris asked. Izzie turned around from her laptop.

“Why should we Americans get to enjoy the victory of equal rights when out fellow members of the LGBT community like Russia and Africa have to suffer discrimination?” she asked. “Until the LGBT have equal rights worldwide, we don’t get to drop the ‘gay’ from ‘gay marriage’.” She turned back to her laptop and went back to work.

“And what about you?” her boyfriend asked.

“I don’t to get married,” Izzie said. “You aren’t going to make me change my mind.”

“But what if they also made polygamy legal, I mean really legal all over the country.”

Izzie paused at her laptop and thought about that for a second. “Maybe, if they legalized polygamy, but that’s not going to happen.” She buried herself back into her work. Kris made a face as he watched her type.

“Okay then…” he mumbled. The soldier rubbed the back of his head as he had to once again force wedding plans out of his head.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,184 hits
