City Lounge: New York (Book One, Chapter Two: Starbucks Line)

Chapter Two: Starbucks Line:

-Brooklyn-

A black woman with frizzy black hair crossed the crowded street. She looked out in front of the Starbucks store as she stood on her tip-toes. Finally, she spotted a white woman with puffy hair pacing around with her cell phone out. It was in that instance the black woman’s phone buzzed. She took it out of her bag and looked at the screen.

“Where you at?” the text read. The woman typed her own response.

“Look up.”

The black woman looked up to see the white woman looking back at her. She raced over to the woman with phone in her hand. The other woman folded her arms across her chest and frowned.

“You kept me waiting, bitch!” the white woman yelled. The black woman put her hands on her hips.

“Well excuse me!” she snapped. “Some of us work full-time, remember?”

“Yeah, yeah! You should’ve called!”

“I was busy! Be lucky I had the time to get off to meet up with you anyways!” Both women broke down laughing before the white woman threw her arm around the other’s shoulders as they walked into the Starbucks.

“How have you been, girl?” she asked.

“Good, Naomi,” her friend said. “You.”

“Define ‘good’.”

The other woman narrowed her eyes at her. “What did you do now?”

“Nothing! I swear it!”

The black woman rolled her eyes. “Right…”

“Aw, come on, Maggie! You know me!”

“Yes, I do.”

Naomi frowned. “Shut up.” They looked out at the long line ahead of them.

“Think I’ll get my coffee in time?” Maggie asked.

“I don’t know,” Naomi said.

“I have to get back to hospital in twenty minutes.”

“Why don’t you get coffee at the hospital?”

“It tastes like crap.”

“Fair enough.”

Maggie breathed and tapped her foot. “I can’t be late for work.”

“Then let me get the coffee for you. I order for us both and bring yours to the hospital.”

“No.”

Naomi tilted her head with a puzzled look on her face. “Why not?”

“You always get my orders wrong.”

“I do not!”

“Yes, you do. Like last Saturday, what do I order with my doughnut at Robbie’s?”

Her friend tried to think. “Cinnamon glaze.”

“Uh-huh.”

“French vanilla drizzle.”

“Uh-huh. And?”

“And?”

“And?”

The other woman tried to dig in her brain for what the third topping was. “Uh… Uh… Help me out here?”

“Nope.”

“What do you mean?”

Maggie turned her head away. “How many years have you known me?”

“Since elementary school.”

“You should know what I order all of the time when we go out.”

“But you change your order sometimes!”

“Doesn’t matter. You should at least be able to remember a couple of things that I order all the time.”

“What am I, your mother? How the fuck am I supposed to keep track? Do you expect me to write it down?”

“You don’t even have to do all of that.”

“So what am I supposed to do, huh?”

“Pay attention when I make my order.”

“Well that’s just stupid!”

“Then how can I count on you to order for me when you can’t even remember what all I ask for on my doughnut?”

Naomi puffed up her cheeks and frowned. “This is stupid.” The barista between the counter looked up at the long line.

“Next, please?” the college-aged girl asked. The two friends walked up to the counter. The barista broke into a huge smile.

“What can I get for you ladies today?” she asked.

“I will have one tall Green Tea Crème Frappuccino, double-blended with whip,” Naomi said.

“And I will have one tall Salted Caramel Mocha Crème Frappuccino with whip, thank you,” Maggie said. The barista took down their orders and rung up the prices.

“That’s will be $9.72,” she said. Naomi and Maggie turned to each other.

“Who’s getting the tab this time?” Naomi asked.

“Could you break up the bill individually?” Maggie asked.

“No problem,” the barista said. She re-rang up the orders. Naomi and Maggie used their Starbucks cards to pay for their drinks. The young barista printed up them their receipts.

“Okay, I will have your drinks ready in a few minutes,” she said. Her auburn ponytail swished back and forth as she got to work. Naomi turned to Maggie.

“You don’t ask for it double-blended?” she asked.

“Nope,” Maggie said.

“Why?”

“I like the ice chucks in my drink.”

Naomi rolled her eyes as they moved out of the line. “You’re weird.”

“So says you.”

The women watched as the line started to speed up through the morning rush hour as they waited for their drinks.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,022 hits
