City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Fifteen: New Old Beats)

Chapter Fifteen: New Old Beats:

I ended up walking home about six in the morning. My body wanted to pass out on my bed, but I was already thinking about a new mix. Spending the day with Sophie woke up something inside of me. Part of me hoped that I would get to see her again soon.

But what was that we had yesterday? That certainly wasn’t a date. She would’ve come out and said so, wouldn’t she? I shook my head. Sophie wasn’t sneaky like that. Now, Zoe would pull something like this. That’s how I almost ended up marrying her. (My mates threw me a dodged the bullet party after I broke off the engagement and distanced myself from her.)

I did my best to push that crazy cow out of my head. She was one of my worst exes. I try not to think about her. Quick, I need to distract myself before I end up in the fetal position on the ground, wishing for death.

I shoved my hands into my pockets.

Oh, yes. That beat I was thinking of when I left Sophie’s flat. I did try to write one when we were together. That fell by the waste side after we broke up. Maybe I could try  and write it again. How did it go again? I remember that I wrote it down once upon a time.  Do I still have that piece of paper? I know I lost some things when I moved out of my old place. Dad and I are still wondering what happened to that box of stuff that I had packed up two years ago. Dad swore that he put it in the truck. I still think that he is confused.

I drove around in my pockets when I reached the bus station. No pen or notepad. I frowned at the problems already popping up. I can’t use this beat while I have it now. Looks like I’m going to have to write it on my phone. Do I have to turn to that point?

I made up my mind by the time the bus pulled up.

I am not a fan of using electronics to write music in the initial stages. Nothing beats the feeling of a pencil, paper, and your imagination. I stared at the lit up screen on my mobile. I have it in my head, but I couldn’t make my fingers move. I can hear the thumping in the back of my head. The foundation needed to be polished up. This song could be so smashing. I puffed up my cheeks and sighed.

Looks like I’m going to have to rely on my own method for motivation.

I leaned my head on the back of my seat and closed my eyes. The beat came in low at first. This was an easy process to help me get into writing beats. Problem is, I can’t remember the last time I did this. Lately, I have been busy staying out of relationships and trying to figure out what I’m going to do with the rest of my life. I even about lost my drive for music.

Come on, I know it’s there. I just have to go and dig it back up. Hanging out with Sophie for the day helped to respark that drive. I don’t want to lose it again and end up in another listless cycle. I want to be able to enjoy my music again.

I began tapping my fingers on my knee. I want to be able to enjoy my music again. I want to have purpose to my life again. I want to break this mundane cycle I’m stuck in. I want… I want…

I want to see Sophie again.

I opened my eyes as the base started ringing in my head. That’s all I could pull up right now, but it would have to do. I moved my fingers to the keys on my mobile and wrote down the bass line. I stared at the foundation on my screen. It’s crude and naked. I wished that I could add more to it. I tried to dig into my brain, but nothing was coming. I closed my eyes and tried my tactic again.

The wheels of the bus ate up the usual silence that would follow in this “session”. This time, bass bounced underneath the rolling wheels. It wouldn’t be long before I reached my street. I’m amazed my mates haven’t called or texted me yesterday. Then again, that particular street is a dead zone. I would probably get a sea of messages by the time I would get home. I pushed that out of my head and focused back on the song.

The only thing I could get was the wheels of the bus and the base. I need to get home and do this properly.

“Excuse me!” I heard someone shout. “Excuse me! Are you asleep, lad?” I quickly opened my eyes when I felt someone shaking me on the shoulder. An old lady stared at me with big eyes.

“Gah!” I shouted as I fell back in my chair.

“Are you okay, lad?” that damned old lady asked.

“Yeah!” I was quick to say. She wouldn’t stop staring at me. Her eyes reminded me of those dolls back in the antique store. Please go away and leave me alone!

“What?” I asked instead.

“What were you doing?” she asked.

“Uh…” I said. Luckily, the bus pulled up at my stop just in time.

“Bye!” I said before I leapt up and ran off the bus. I shoved my phone into my pocket and walked the rest of the way home. It’s gone now. That creepy old lady had to go and kill my vibe. At least, I got the base, though.

I unlocked the door to my flat. My body felt wore out for the first time since yesterday. I dragged myself back to my bedroom and passed out on my bed. I think I slept until three in the afternoon that day. Not even my buzzing phone could rouse me.

End of City Lounge: London: Book One

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
