City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Thirteen: Late Dinner)

Chapter Thirteen: Late Dinner:

We finally got to the front of the line around eight o’clock. Twice we were tempted to get out of line and go somewhere else. Sophie and I ordered our food when we got to the counter. We sat near the window and started eating.

“That took forever,” I said. “I thought I was going to die.”

“I know, right?” Sophie asked.

“It wasn’t this packed when we came here on our date, was it?”

“No.  I don’t think so.”

I shoved chips into my mouth. “These are pretty good, though.”

“Yeah.”

“Can’t remember the last time I had chips this good.”

“Are you serious?”

“Yeah.”

“How?”

“I haven’t been out much.”

“Why is that?”

I shrugged my shoulders. “I just don’t. How about you?”

Sophie shrugged and shook her head. “I don’t get out much either.”

“It’s so weird. My mates are always finding something to do. I just don’t see it myself.”

“I know what you mean.”

I put another chip in my mouth. I noticed Sophie eyeing me with intent. “Are you watching me eat again?”

“Yeah.”

“Please stop doing that. You creep me out when you do that.”

“I’m curious about something.”

“What?”

“Why do you always eat your chips first? Why not go for the burger?”

“I like my chips to be hot and crispy when I eat them. They don’t taste good soggy.” I poured on my mayo and shoved more chips into my mouth. Another thought crossed my mind.

“Hey, Sophie,” I said.

“What?” she asked.

“What time did we get back to our dorms on our first date?”

She sat back and thought about it. “Oh, damn! Let’s see. I think it was about… six in the morning.”

I about spit some of my chips out. “That long out?”

“Yeah.”

I sat back, thinking about this. “That long, huh? I guess when you are in love with someone, you don’t keep track of time.”

“Do you really believe that?”

“It was true for us.”

“What about your other exes?”

“Not really. I did come close once with this bird named Laura, but then her mother had to ruin it.”

“Nightmare.”

“Yeah… What about you?”

“No.” Sophie shook her head. “I just don’t feel it with anyone else.”

“Hm.” I finished up the last of my chips. “What are we going to do with ourselves?”

“How do you mean?”

I took a sip of my Coke and set down the cup. “We’re going to be thirty in a couple of years. Look at us. I am floating by with DJ job. What are you doing now?”

“I’m drifting from job to job at the moment.”

“We are barely getting by. And we’re both alone.”

“Is that a bad thing?”

“Yes and no. It just feels like we aren’t going anywhere, you know?”

“I guess…”

“What do you want?”

“I don’t know. What do you want?”

I sat back and looked at the ceiling. That question had only been a fleeting moment in my life. When I was younger, I had many dreams of what I wanted to be when I grew up. Most of them centered around music. Those were the days. I did get into music… sort of. I took a bite into a my burger. Sophie took a sip of her milkshake.

“I can’t remember what we did after this,” she said. I shrugged and shook my head.

“I don’t remember either,” I said. “Does it have to be like our date?” Sophie shrugged and shook her head.

“I don’t know,” she said.

“Why have we been reliving our first date?”

“I don’t know, it just happened.”

“Do you want to get back together?”

“You’re asking me that question again?”

“Well, do you?”

Sophie made her “pig face” when she gets annoyed or frustrated. Her eyes looked so small as she tried to think of her answer. I put up my hands.

“Whoa, hey,” I said. “I was only asking a question.”

“You asked me that about five times already,” Sophie grumbled.

“I’m sorry.”

“Whatever.” She munched on her burger like an angry goat. I cussed myself for going back there again. Stupid, that was really dumb.

“Do you want to go home after this?” I asked. She looked up at me, glaring.

“No,” she said in a sharp tone.

“What?” I asked.

“I remembered there is one more place to go,” Sophie said. I tried to dig in my brain where we went after dinner. There weren’t many places open around this time of night. I even bet that the stores would be closing up by now. I gave up when my head started to ache.

“Where?” I asked at last.

“Come by my place,” she said. I stared at her with big eyes.

“Huh?” I asked.

“Do you want to make it up to me or not?”

“Did I upset you somehow?”

“Do you want to make it up to me or not?”

“Sophie…” I gritted my teeth as she started to raise her voice.

“Do you?”

I sighed and rubbed my forehead. “Fine, I will make it up to you.”

“Then come over to my place.”

“But why there? We’re not going to sleep together or anything.”

“You’re right, we’re not going to do that.”

“So… why?”

“Does there have to be a reason?” The look in her eyes told me not to think too much about that question. I drew my mouth closed and finished off my coke.

“My thoughts exactly,” Sophie said. She finished off the last of her burger. I watched as she turned her attention back to her milkshake. My ex seemed to be looking at me as if to leave an awkward pause while I wondered how the heck did I get into being invited back to her place after asking if she wanted to get back together or not. Mentally, I slipped myself in the back of the head, cursing myself for opening my big, stupid mouth for the fifth or sixth time with that question today.

We’re not going to be able to answer that question tonight, are we?

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
