City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Twelve: Hunting for Dinner in London)

Chapter Twelve: Hunting for Dinner in London:

Just as I predicted, Mr Andrews’ brother had to kick us out of the store for him to close it. Sophie rolled her shoulders back and smiled with her head to the sky.

“Better?” I asked.

“Oh yes!” she shouted. Sophie turned and looked at me. “Where to now?” I stared at her with big eyes.

“You still want to stay out?” I asked.

“Is that wrong?” she asked. I shook my head.

“No, it’s just…” I looked around at the sky with the sun setting for the day. “It’s getting rather late.” Sophie puckered her lips at me, frowning.

“Is that okay?” she asked.

“Uh…”

“Do you have to work tonight?”

“I don’t think so.”  I pulled out my phone and went to the calendar app. I stared at it as if I was looking at an old-fashioned map.

“No,” I said. “It looks like I am free.” My stomach began to grumble. I looked up to see Sophie smiling at me with a goofy smile.

“What?” I asked.

“I think it’s time we get dinner, don’t you?” she asked. I rubbed the back of my head as my stomach growled again.

“Okay, okay,” I said. “You win. Where do you want to eat?” Sophie thought for a minute. I could already predict what she was going to say. She turned to me with a huge grin on her face.

“I feel like having a burger!” she said aloud. I smiled and shook my head.

“I knew you would say that!” I said. For the rest of the night, I could see where the rest of this outing could go.

“I know the one place that we can go,” I said. Sophie looked at with a smile of a fox on her face.

“You thinking what I’m thinking?” she asked.

“Race you there?” I asked.

“You’re on, mate!” Sophie shouted. We crouched down in the middle of the street. Oh my god, we’re reliving our first date with this. Can this get any more mind-boggling?

“Ready?” I asked.

“One,” Sophie said.

“Two,” I said back.

“Three!” we shouted together. The two of us took off running down the street. I don’t think we cared about people staring at us. We were off in our own little world. Sophie laughed the entire way as she ran. I managed to run past her.

“No fair!” she shouted.

“Ha-ha! Too bad, ya snozer!” I shouted. I sped up when I felt her angry eyes on my back. She never really was that fast. I mean, I’m not, but she’s way worse than me! Plus, it didn’t help that we had to work through crowds of people in the streets. Where didn’t all of these people come from? Did all of London decide to go home at the same time all of a sudden? I had to run away a woman with arms filled with heavy bags.

“Excuse me!” I shouted.

“Watch where you’re going, you massive wanker!” she shouted. I glanced over my shoulder to see Sophie running to keep up with me. She is bowing her head to the lady as she runs past her. I smile to myself as I speed up. Sorry, Soph. You we’ll never beat me like that.

Once out of the block, I looked around for Patty&Bun. I couldn’t let go of that restaurant if I wanted to. My mates and I hang out here. Sophie and I came here quite few times. I decided when I turned thirty, I would have supper here too. I looked among the busy crowd trying to go home for my ex. (It doesn’t feel right to keep calling her my “ex”. We felt too close to be just mates, but we’re not dating. Are we?)

I spotted Sophie dragging towards me. She glared at me, panting. I put my hands on my hips.

“What took you so long?” I asked.

“Oh piss off, you wanker!” she shouted. I burst out into laughter, meriting a hard punch in the arm from Sophie.

“Ow!” I wailed. She might not be able to run fast, but damn can she hit hard. She hits harder than any of bloke mates combined.

“You pussy,” she said.

“No,” I said, rubbing my arm. “You’ve always hit so hard. Even Big Chris was scared to piss you off.” A little smile came onto her face.

“What?” I asked. She pushed her hair back from her eyes.

“I miss Big Old Chris so much,” Sophie said. “He was like a giant teddy bear!” I couldn’t help, but to smile myself.

“Yeah,” I said. I remembered that big old goofball of bloke. He was so kind-hearted and always dreamed of the impossible. So full of honor too. When his last girlfriend, Gloria, dumped him for another bloke, Chris just wished her well. Thinking of that old softy made me feel so sad. I lowered my eyes and tried to think about something else.

“Right,” I said once I pulled myself together. “Shall we go inside? Those burgers aren’t going to eat themselves, you know?” Sophie pressed her lips together and nodded.

“Right,” she said. I held the door open for her as I wiped away the tears that were still in my eyes. Patty&Bun was packed inside tonight. We could barely see all the way to the counter. Okay, this wasn’t like our first date. This wasn’t so pack and it didn’t have so many Yanks either. I slowly inched my head towards Sophie standing next to me. Should we get out of here and find somewhere else to eat? I many, nobody’s going to notice in a place packed like this. But…

“I think I’m going to die if I don’t eat something,” I whispered.

“This place is open all night, right?” she whispered back. I looked back at the packed crowd in front of us.

“We will have to see, won’t we?” I muttered under my breath. My stomach wouldn’t hear of this as it grumbled for a third time this evening.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,021 hits
