City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Nine: It Doesn’t Make Sense)

Chapter Nine: It Doesn’t Make Sense:

-Sophie-

I can’t make sense of this. Why did I call Paul out here to spend the day with me? It sounded like a good idea at the time. But now, he seems to think that I want to get back together with him. Truth is, I’m not sure if that’s what I want myself. I wasn’t looking to get into another relationship. Every bloke I dated has let me down in the past. I just…

I shook my head.

We’re recreating our first date. We came to this neighborhood, walked around, had lunch at the lunch restaurant, got ice cream, watched Mr. Irani flirt and fail. If my guess was right, we were going to that antique shop next.

I turned to Paul with red cheeks.

“Paul,” I spoke up.

“Yeah?” he asked.

I pressed my lips together. “Do you… Do you… Want… Do you want to get back… together?”

“What?”

“Do you want to get back together?”

“I don’t know.”

“Oh…”

“Do you want to get back together?”

I put up my hands in a shrug. “I don’t know.” The man I walked with Paul, the more became confused myself. Still, I didn’t want to stop things here. It actually felt nice to be with him again. Paul didn’t try to get in my pants or act immature. He’s actually a decent bloke.

“Do you know where we go now?” I asked.

“No…” he said. I put my arms behind my head.

“It’s to the antique store,” I said.

“What antique store?”

“You know, the one by that Chinese restaurant that had that overpowering smell.” I noticed the confused look on his face. “You remember the wind chimes hanging outside?”

“Oh, that place!”

“Yeah.”

Paul gave me a strange look. “Are you sure that place is still around?”

“Why not? Most of everything is still here.”

“That’s true, but…”

“Please?”

He sighed and dropped his shoulders. “Fine.”

I almost forgot how good it was to hang around with Paul. We didn’t have to talk much, but that was fine. He didn’t stare at my boobs when I was talking to him. I just wish that it wasn’t so awkward between us. We don’t seem to know what to do here. I just wish that we had an answer for our predicament.

“I just thought of something that was different from our first date and today,” he spoke up.

“What?” I asked.

“Tanya,” he said. I nodded as I thought about that.

“True,” I said. “We hadn’t met her yet at the time.”

“Yeah.” He made a face as another thought crossed his mind. “When exactly did we meet her?”

“I don’t exactly remember,” I said. “It’s been so long.”

“It can’t have been that long.”

“You sure?”

“We were in university when we started dating.”

“You’re right, we were. I think we met Tanya during that Halloween party.”

“What Halloween party?”

“Don’t you remember back in 2011? I was Spider Man and you were a vampire nurse?”

I tilted my head as I tried to remember. “That sounds familiar. Who else was with us?”

“Jez, Charlie, Shelley, Rose, Naomi…”

“Was Naomi the one with the puffy hair?”

“No, that was Rose.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah, Naomi always dyed her hair every month.”

“Really?”

“Yeah, she was a pink-haired punk rocker that night.”

Something finally lit up in my head. “Oh, yes! She looked great in that pink and leather. I don’t like the color pink, but it look great on her.”

“Now, do you remind a gold and purple mermaid at this Halloween party?”

“Was she blonde or brunette? There were two mermaids at that party, remember?”

“Blonde, I believe.”

“Ah, yes! That was Tanya, wasn’t it? She slipped in someone’s vomit and fell on her arse. I had to help her up while you tried to keep me from falling into the vomit with her.”

“I had to. I was trying to save you costume. You looked so fit in it.”

“I do rock a nurse vampire very well. That was a great party.”

“Yeah.” We walked up to a stop sign. I took a look around the older-looking buildings. This really was like our first date. I just picked up this neighborhood out at random and the rest of the stops just followed suite. This whole day felt like something out of a movie. Maybe some other time we could catch a picture in that out theater further down this street. (Not as a date, just to check out a picture like friends.)

Friends…

“Paul,” I said again.

“If we’re not getting back together, what exactly are we?”

“I don’t know! Where did that one come from?”

“I don’t know! It just came out.” We keep coming back to the subject without even trying. It keeps getting worse every time we run into this subject. Each time, we still don’t have an answer for getting back together or what we are. We couldn’t even remember why we broke up.

“How long since we last saw each other?” I asked.

“Last night,” Paul said.

“No, before that.”

“I think it was about four years ago.”

“That long ago? I thought it was longer for some reason. It sure felt like.”

“I know how you feel. But, I didn’t really keep count.”

“Why is that?”

He nervously chuckled as he rubbed the back of his head. “I have been dating so many women, but those relationships went bust.” I rubbed on his back, frowning. I understood how he felt.

“I think we jinx each other in the love department,” I said. Paul looked at me with a blank expression on his face.

“Do you think so?” he asked.

“Why else are we both still single and miserable?” I asked.

“Good point.” He asked me something that threw me off kilter. “What do you think we should do about it?”

“What? Do you mean together or separately?”

“Uh… What do you think?”

“I hadn’t really thought about that.” Paul shoved his hands into his pockets and walked ahead of me. I tilted my head as I watched his back.

“You coming?” he asked. I snapped out of it and raced to catch up with my (maybe)-ex. I predicted that we would revisit the issue once again later today.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,022 hits
