City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Six: Lunch with Sophie)

Chapter Six: Lunch with Sophie:

Around noon, I myself was curious about the old Thai place that Sophie and I used to go. That place had some good food. I hadn’t tried to burn my mouth in a long time.

“Hey, Sophie,” I said.

“Yeah?” she asked.

“What was the name of that Thai place that we went to?”

Her eyes lit up brighter than the sun. “You really want to go there?”

“Why not?” I shrugged with my hands in my pockets. “You’ve got in on my mind now.”

“I don’t exactly remember the name, but there was a giant white elephant statue standing at the entrance.”

“Yes it did.”

“Do you remember where it was?”

“I’m not sure.”

“Oh.”

Sophie smiled as she rolled her shoulders back. “This could be fun, though.”

I gave her a funny look. “How?”

“You and me walking around like this. We’ll probably find it again by accident like we did last time,” she said. She was probably right about that. Sure enough, we found that elephant statue standing outside of the Thai place around walking around the neighbourhood looking for it. Some people didn’t know what we were talking about when we tried to describe the restaurant.

“A white elephant statue?” an old lady asked.

“That’s right,” I said. “It comes up to my chin, made of wooden, painted white with red and gold. Is any of this ringing a bell?” This old lady stared at me, confused. I nervously laughed. I guess not… But, Sophie and I managed to find it on our own.

“Wow,” we said. That old elephant statue still stood on its hind legs with its trunk to the top covering. I remembered that old statue. Sophie and I took a picture by it after we had lunch.

“I wonder if they are open,” Sophie said. I walked up to the glass doors.

“I think they are,” I said after I spotted the times of operation. “What time do you have now?” Sophie pulled out her mobile.

“12:10,” she said.

“Well, we can just go inside,” I said. I pushed open the glass door and held it open for Sophie. I followed her inside as the door closed behind me. A lady behind the counter perked up when she spoke up.

“Paul, Sophie! I haven’t seen you in so long!” she said. I about stumbled backwards.

“You still remember us?” I asked.

“Of course,” the woman said. “You were our favorite customers. Are you two back together?” Sophie and I stood with red faces.

“No, no!” I said quickly. “We just met up last night!”

“Ah,” she said. “Just the two of you today?”

“Yes.”

“Follow me.” She led us over to our favorite table near the window. This felt like our first date. We didn’t have much planning going on our first date. We just happened to find this place by chance. This lady was so nice to help us out through this random lunch. She started out with a tray of tea. The dark color made me nervous, but it tasted really good. Today, I turned to that lady. (I wished that I could remember her name.)

“Say, do you still have that tea here?” I asked. Sophie’s eyes lit up when I asked that. The lady that I would put around her 40’s smiled.

“Of course,” she said. “Let me get you some menus.” I looked around the restaurant as she walked over to the front desk. The other tables were empty just like on our first date. I broke into a little smile.

“Hey Sophie,” I spoke up.

“Yes?” she asked.

“It feels like our private restaurant,” I said. Sophie smiled as she giggled.

“May we should come here for a private dinner some time,” she said. That’s exactly what she said on our first date. I didn’t voice this, instead I picked up my menu and began to look at the tasty items.

“What do you feel like eating for lunch?” I asked.

“Hm…” Sophie said.  “I think I want the drunken noodle.”

“That looks good.” That’s when I saw an old favorite of menu in the rice section. “Ooo!” I glanced up at my ex.

“I think I’m ready to order,” I said.

“Me too,” Sophie said. I missed that about. She already knew what she wanted. Some of my exes would take ages to pick out what they wanted. Some would even pick the most expensive item on the menu. (Being a club DJ doesn’t pay that much all the time.) The lady from the front desk returned with that tea that we like.

“Are you ready to order?” she asked.

“Yes we are,” I said. The lady pulled out her notepad and pen from her pocket.

“What would you like?” she asked.

“I will have Basil Fried Rice with Beef and make it Thai hot,” I said. The lady wrote down my order with such speed.

“And you?” she asked Sophie.

“I will have the drunken noodle with chicken and make it Thai hot,” my ex said. I forgot that Sophie also likes spicy things as much as I do. My mates wonder how I could eat hot things without screaming in agony. The lady finished writing down Sophie’s order.

“Okay, I will be right back with your orders,” she said. She turned walked over to the kitchen with her notepad in hand. I turned my attention back to Sophie.

“Still like spicy things, I see,” I said. She covered her mouth as she repressed a giggle.

“So do you,” Sophie said. “Say, could we look for that ice cream place after lunch?” I leaned back with a smile on my face.

“Are you trying to recreate our first date?” I asked. Sophie jumped with a red face.

“What?! No! I just happened to think of this place!” she said.

“But why?”

My ex lowered her head. “I don’t know!”I can’t help but laugh at how frustrated I am making her. I couldn’t help but laugh.

“Relax, I’m only joshing,” I said. Sophie looked up at me, glaring.

“That’s not funny,” she hissed.

“Okay, okay. I’ll buy you ice cream after lunch as an apology.”

Sophie reached her eyebrow. “You promise?”

“Yes, yes. I know you won’t let me forget either.”

“No, I won’t.”

“Yeah, yeah.” I couldn’t help but feel like the same thing happened on our first date. But I am trying not to take it as a sign or anything. I mean, it’s not like we are looking to get back together or anything. Like that’s not going to happen, right? I started to doubt that notion by the time the lady came back with our food.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
