City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Four: I’m Not that Stupid to Believe in Fairy Tales Again, am I?)

Chapter Four: I’m Not that Stupid to Believe in Fairy Tales Again, am I?:

-Paul-

What happened last night, I can’t be certain. I saw Sophie again and talked to her. Suddenly, I had that spark in the DJ booth in again just like last time. I felt like I was on fire with my music. I would occasionally look out to see if Sophie was watching me. She looked like she was having so much fun with her friends on Carrie’s hen night. I couldn’t stop thinking about Sophie. What were the odds of us meeting up again at this club? It didn’t take long for a startling thought to come in my head.

Could Sophie and I get back together?

I stumbled backwards when that thought crossed my mind. Sophie and I back together? Could that even work? We don’t even know why it fell apart in the first place. Does she even want to get back together? Second chances just don’t happen anymore. Plus, I’m not that stupid to believe in fairy tales again.

But why couldn’t I stop thinking about her?

The next day, I awoke to the sound of my mobile ringing. I grumbled as I reached over for it.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Hey there, mate!” a loud voice shouted over the phone. I held my phone away from my ear, frowning.

“Jay?” I asked.

“The mates and I are going to check out some birds today. Want to come?”

“Nah, I’m good.”

“You sure, mate?”

I didn’t know why I was smiling while I was talking. “Last night was good for me. I think I will just stay in today.”

“Why?”

“Bye, Jay.” I hung up before he could say another word. It felt too early for him to learn about Sophie and my encounter last night. I don’t know where it will lead yet. It might have been just a fluke and I might not ever see her again. Speaking of which, I stared at my mobile. Oh yeah, I have to make another call. She’s probably expecting me to keep my word from last night. What if she forgot? Still, I just can’t help but wonder…

My finger dialed her up before I could go through with my thoughts. I rolled over unto my back as the other line rang. Maybe she’s too busy to pick up the phone. I could just leave quick message and hang up. But what would I say to her?

“Hello?” a light, feathery voice said on the other line. I quickly sat up in bed. Oh bollocks, I didn’t expect this. I didn’t plan out what I would say if she answered. What do I say to her?

“Hello?” Sophie asked again.

“Uh… hi….” I said at last.

“Paul?”

“Yeah.”

“Is something wrong?”

“Wrong? No! I just wanted to call you.”

“Why?”

“I promised to call you last night, remember?” Please don’t let her think that I am creepy. I’m okay making good on a dumb promise last night. I was caught up in the moment and didn’t think about what I would do afterwards.

“Huh?”

“We met up in the alley behind the club and started talking. We caught up and exchanged numbers before we went back inside, remember?”

“Oh yeah! You did promise that, didn’t you?”

“Yeah. Uh… So how are you?”

“Fine. And you?”

“Good, I guess.” I don’t really have much to say to her on the phone. It almost feels like the first time we started dating. We would just sit there on the phone and say nothing. We couldn’t think of anything to say. It’s almost as if we were waiting for the other one to speak. I looked over at the clock on the nightstand. It’s still the same time that I made this randomly promised call.

“Did you want something?” Sophie asked.

“What?” I asked.

“Did you want something else from me?”

“Uh… Did you make it home alright last night?”

“Yes. Patty and the girls helped me get home.”

“That’s good.”

“What about you?”

“Huh? What about me what?”

“Did you make it home just fine?”

“Yes, I managed to find a bus to get back to my flat.”

“You took the bus? What happened to your car?”

“In the shop? It brought down five weeks ago.”

“You haven’t gotten it back yet?”

“Nope. The mechanic is one of Jay’s friends.”

“Oh, that would explain it.”

“Yeah.” We fell silent once again. Why is it so hard to come up with things to say with her on the phone? We only met up last night and it’s already starting to feel like old times. The strangest thing about this phone call? I actually enjoyed being on the phone with her like this. I might not have much to say, but just knowing that she’s there on the other line felt great. I stared up at the ceiling, unable to help myself from smiling.

That’s when she dropped one of the big questions.

“Are you doing anything today?” Sophie asked. My jaw about dropped when she asked that.

“Uh… Uh… Nothing much. Why do you ask?”

“I don’t know, I figured that we could just hang out for the day or something. If that is okay with you.”

I quickly nodded and shook my head. “No! That would be perfectly fine. Do you want me to pick you up or do you want to meet up somewhere?”

“We could meet up, that’s fine.”

“The usual place?”

“Yeah, of course.”

“See you in twenty?”

“See you in twenty.”

“Uh… I guess bye then.”

“Bye.”

I couldn’t stop smiling after I hung up. Sophie and I are actually going to hang out together again. Oh god, I can’t remember the last time that happened. I looked over at my clock before it sank in. Oh shit, Sophie and I are going to hang out today!  I jumped out of bed and ran around getting dressed. Now, this could be nothing. Maybe just exes as friends hanging out for old-time’s sake. After all, I’m not that stupid to believe in fairy tales again, am I?

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
