City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Three: Reunion)

Chapter Three: Reunion:

They stood staring at each other with wide eyes and jaws dropped.

“Sophie?”

“Paul?”

This couldn’t real, right? They actually were staring at each other right now? The former lovers were just thinking about each other tonight and here they were in the same club. This felt so strange. Did they think each other into being?

“What are you doing here?” he asked.

She pushed back her long, dark hair. “I’m here with some friends at a stupid hen night parry. What about you?”

“I DJ here in the late shift.”

“You don’t say.”

“Uh… How long has it been?”

“I have no idea. I think three years.”

“Really? It feels so much longer.”

“It does, doesn’t it?”

“Yeah.”

“I missed you.”

“What?”

“Uh… I missed you.” His voice sounded out choked up. Seeing her again threw his mind back to happier times with her. He had dreamt of a future with her.

“Are you still taking pictures?”

“Yes, but I don’t have the time anymore.”

“Why not?”

She shrugged and shook her head. “Life got in the way.”

“I’m sorry to hear that.”

“What about you? How is your music coming?”

“Good, but…”

“But?”

He sighed and dropped his shoulders. “It’s not as fun as it used to be.”

“What do you mean?”

He rubbed the back of his head. “There’s no spark there. No passion. It just all feels so dull to me.”

“Then why stay?”

“I can’t do anything else.”

“That’s not true. You can be great.”

He kind of laughs. “I wish.”

“I mean it! You still could!”

“And what about you?”

“Hm? What about me?”

“Surely you can be great too.”

“Yeah… But I don’t know what I want anymore.”

“What happened to us?”

“What– our dreams or our relationship?”

He shrugged with his hands in his pockets. “Both.”

“Life and I have no idea.”

“You sounded upset over the phone. What happened?”

She sighed and shook her head. “My now ex. Such a wanker. I caught him making out with some slapper in the club.”

“Ouch! I’m so sorry to hear that.”

“Have you found someone for yourself?”

“No.”

“Seriously?”

“Yes. I have been busy with work.” He looked at his ex with the silly-looking pink crown on her head. “What is that on your head? I thought you hated pink.”

She felt for her crown on her head. “Oh, I do. It’s for the hen night thing.”

“Oh, yeah. I forgot about that. Who’s getting married?”

“Carrie.”

“What? You mean pudgy Carrie? Carrie with the fat cheeks? Chatty Carrie? That Carrie?”

“Yeah. But she’s not so pudgy anymore.”

“She lost the stones?”

“Oh yes, she actually looks great!”

“Who is Chatty Carrie marrying?”

“Roger Nelson.”

“Wow! So she finally won him over?”

“Yep.”

“Wow!” How long had they been out there. They didn’t know or seem to care. It felt nice to be talking to each other again, just like out times. What were the odds of meeting up like this again? Must be fate, right? Neither one believed it that stuff anymore. After all, fate had let them down before. Surely, they wouldn’t fall for something so desperate like that again. They weren’t that desperate, right?

“I probably should get back to the DJ booth now,” he said. “The song mix I put on is about over.”

“Yeah, my friends are probably wondering where I am by now,” she said. He wasn’t empty and she wasn’t torn up anymore. However, they didn’t seem to want to go back in just yet.

“We should probably go back inside about now,” he said.

“Yeah…” she said.

“Hey, when can I see you again?”

Her eyes widened when he asked that. “You really want to see me again?”

“If that’s okay with you.”

“Sure, we can see each other again!” She was nodding eagerly as she spoke.

“Okay, when can I see you again?”

“I don’t know. I’ll be around, I guess.”

“Do you still have my number?”

“I think so, why?”

“I think I might still have yours. I will have to check and see. I might call you if I have it.”

“Are you serious?”

“Yes, but I don’t know if you have the same number.”

“Here, give me your phone.”

He handed her his phone and she gave him her new number. For a second, his heart did a little flip in his chest.

“Do you want mine too?” he asked.

“Sure, why not?” she said. He gave her his number in exchange.

“We should probably get back inside now,” she said.

“Yeah, for this time?” he asked.

“For real.”

“After you.”

“No, after you.”

“No, insist, after you.”

“No, after you.” They kept this up for ten minutes. Again, this felt like old times. He finally sighed and dropped his shoulders.

“Shall we walk in together and separate?” he offered.

“On the count of three?” she asked. For a second there, she thought that she was reliving the first month they started dating.

“One,” he said.

“Two,” she said.

“Three,” they said together. They walked back into the club and separated as planned. He went back to his DJ booth and she went back over to her friends. After that little exchange, they seemed to have changed for that night. He felt more alive with the music he was playing and she seemed a little more pleasant towards the bride-to-be.

“Anything good happen when you were outside?” Carrie asked her. She shrugged and shook her head.

“Nothing much,” she said. Would this be the last time they would see each other? Would they make good on their promises and call each other? Both, maybe, probably, just possibly hoped it to be so just once in their listless lives in London.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,022 hits
