City Lounge: London (Book One, Chapter Two: True Love Doesn’t Exist)

Chapter Two: True Love Doesn’t Exist:

-Sophie-

True love doesn’t exist. At least for me. Every bloke I dated has broken my heart. I just want to quit. I gave up wondering what I did wrong with my romantic relationships. In fact, I buried myself with work so that I couldn’t fall in love again. Despite that, I ended up with another boyfriend. My mates act all happy for me, but they can clearly see that I am not happy with how things are going for me. This is not even a real relationship that I’m in. My boyfriend and I don’t really spend much time together anymore. I’m working and he’s doing… whatever the hell he does. I just really want to be alone. No, I’m not sure what I really want.

I had dozed off on my couch this Saturday night when my mobile rang. I reached around on the floor mumbling to myself.

“Hello?” I grumbled.

“Sophie!” a loud voice yelped on the other line. I frowned as I narrowed my eyes.

“What do you want, Patty?” I grumbled.

“Where are you?” she asked. “You’re supposed to be out with us!”

“Huh?”

“Tonight is Carrie’s hen night, remember?”

“What?”

“Carrie’s getting married this Sunday, remember?”

I pouted as I rolled over onto my side. “You know, I just don’t feel like going out tonight.”

“Oh come on!” Patty said. “You have to be there. You are one of the bridesmaids.” Not by choice. I didn’t even want to go to the stupid wedding. It annoys me that my friends are so happy in love. What makes it worse is that they have to talk about it all the time.

“I didn’t want to be,” I said.

“But Carrie is really fond of you.”

“Yeah, yeah.” I don’t really see why. She and I aren’t really that close. Carrie was a grade behind me in high school and a year younger. I didn’t understand why she idolized me so much . I’m not that great. I’m surprised that I’m not the maid of honor.

“And she really wants me there?” I asked.

“Yes,” Patty insisted. I faked a smiled as I forced myself to sit up.

“Give me ten,” I said.

“I’ll come by and get you,” Patty said.

“Right…” I groaned and threw back my head after I hung up. Do I have to do this? I got up and walked back to my room. I really don’t like going out. After I got dressed, I opened my front door to find Patty standing there, waiting with a huge grin on her face.

“What took you so long?” she asked. “I have been standing out here for ages.”

“It hasn’t been that long,” I said.

“Never mind that, we have to go!” Patty grabbed me by the arm and dragged me with her.

“Ow! Patty! Your nails are really sharp!” I cried. She didn’t listen as she dragged me further down the street. I managed to lock my door before I was dragged away.

Carrie and her party were at some club that I don’t even care to know the name of. Why am I even out here? I just wanted to stay home and be alone tonight. But, no!  I sat at the bar staring at my phone. Once again, Marco has failed to call me. I rolled my eyes. Typical. I bet he’s probably screwing around with some random slapper. I don’t know why I keep hanging on. Why did I ever break up with Paul? I sighed as I stared at my drink.

Paul and I were so happy back in the day. That was the best relationship I had ever had. He wasn’t perfect, but he did his best on his part to make it work. I loved his mix tapes and the attention that he paid to me. I don’t know what went wrong. It just… ended. It doesn’t make sense now that I think about it.

Suddenly, someone grabbed me by the shoulders. I whipped around to see Carrie grinning at me. She had a pink veil that was tangled up in her long red hair. She looked so much younger than she was when she grinned.

“You made it!” Carrie said. I shook her from my shoulders.

“Don’t do that,” I said. The bride-to-be pouted at me as she straightened up my pink fluffy hat. I hate the color pink.

“Come out and dance with us,” Carrie said. I shook my head.

“Nah,” I said. “I’m not much for dancing.” I raised my eyebrow as she stared at me intently.

“What?” I asked.

“Are you really happy?” she asked. I gave her a puzzled look.

“What are you talking about?” I asked. Carrie slid into a bar stool next to me.

“You just don’t look so happy lately,” she said. “You used to love taking pictures and wouldn’t stop talking about being love.” I leaned back on the bar.

“People change, you know?” I said. I noticed Carrie looking off in the distance further down the bar near the exit.

“What?” I asked. She turned to me with big worried eyes.

“You don’t want to look down the bar,” she said. I narrowed my eyes.

“Why?” Despite her best attempts to obscure my vision, I saw Marco tonguing some random slapper as I predicted. Funny thing, I thought that I wouldn’t be so hurt about it if that was the case.  But now…

I rose to my feet as pale as a ghost. I couldn’t hear Carrie’s voice as I walked over to that wanker with his tongue down that tart’s throat. I didn’t know that I was only centimeters away from him. All I know was that I reached out and smacked him in the back of the head. Marco and that slapper broke off the kiss and turned to me. I folded my arms across my chest.

“Working late, my ass!” I shouted. I slapped him and marched out of the club.

“Sophie, wait!” Marco shouted after me. I disappeared out to the back alley of the club and my mobile rang. I puffed up my cheeks as I pulled it out of my purse.

“Babe, I can explain!” Marco cried over the phone.

“I don’t want to hear! I don’t want to talk to you or even want to see your face!”

“She doesn’t mean anything to me!”

“Shut up! I don’t want to hear it! We’re over, Marco!”

“But…”

“We’re over!”

“Sophie, don’t do this to us! I love you!”

“I don’t care! You’re nothing but a wanker! Fuck you! Fuck you!” I broke down crying.

“Sophie?” I heard someone ask. I turned around and my eyes widened.

“Paul?” I asked.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,026 hits
