City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Ten: Friends and Crush)

Chapter Ten: Friends and Crush:

I looked to my left and right.

I could see the wheels turning in Stephanie’s head. Sebastian being with us might have given her a motive. Maybe it won’t be so bad this time. That thought told me I still needed to be on my guard. No sooner had I thought about that, Stephanie’s turned on Sebastian.

“Say, Seb,” she spoke up. “Do you have a girlfriend?”

“No,” Sebastian said back. Not too bad. It’s just a curious question after all. No harm, no foul, right?

“What team do you play for?” she asked.

“Excuse me?” he asked.

“What team do you play for?”

“What team?”

“Yeah.”

“Oh, I don’t play sports.”

Stephanie’s ponytail bounced as she shook her head. “No, that’s not what I meant.”

“What?” Sebastian asked.

“She means are you gay, straight, or bi?” I clarified. I can’t believe I ended being dragged into this conversation. At least she was tactful about it, sort of.

“Bisexual,” he admitted. Stephanie and I looked at him. I guess they are more open with their sexually in Western Europe than they are in the States. My friend’s face perked up when he said that.

“Oh, have you dated more men or women?” she asked.

“Women,” Sebastian said. He answered these questions so freely. Europeans are really comfortable about sex, I suppose. I expected Stephanie to ask if he was a virgin or not. Instead, she turned her eyes on me.

“And how about you?” she asked.

“What about me?” I asked. I braced myself for something about my sex life or my sexuality.

“Are you seeing anybody right now?” Stephanie asked instead. Inside, I breathed out in relief.

“No, I haven’t had the time,” I said.

“That’s a shame,” she said. I could already predict where this was headed.

“Stephanie,” I said.

“Hm?” she asked.

“What are you up to now?”

“Just asking some questions.”

I raised my eyebrow. “Is that right?”

“Uh-hm.”

I frowned. “I don’t trust you.”

“Oh come on, have I ever let you down before?”

“I don’t remember.”

Stephanie pouted at me like a little puppy. “Oh come on,” she said. “Have a little faith in for just for today at least.” I folded my arms across my chest.

“Why should I?” I asked. My friend groaned.

“Em, why must you be so mean?” she wailed.

“Because I know how you are,” I said with my hands on my hips. We looked at Sebastian as he broke into laughter. I tilted my head.

“What’s so funny?” I asked.

“You two seem so close,” he said. “How long have you been friends?”

“Not long,” I said. “We met our senior year of high school. We hung around each other for the last semester of our school year. She went back to Australia after graduation.”

“We just met back up again today,” Stephanie added.

“I see,” Sebastian said. “You two seem really close.”

“Thanks!” Stephanie said. “Em’s like a baby sister to me.” She couldn’t stop hugging on me as she talked.

“Yeah…” I said in a low voice.

“Thatagirl,” my friend said. She smacked me on the back and walked further down the street. I rubbed my back as I turned to Sebastian. Why does he get keep getting hotter every time we are alone? One look into his eyes and I couldn’t help myself.

“Are you really bi?” I asked.

“Yes,” he said.

“I see,” I said.

“My last relationship was with a guy,” he said. I looked at him with intent in my eyes.

“What was he like?” I couldn’t help myself. I’m usually not that nosy. Why did I have to ask him more questions about his sex life? I shuffled my feet.

“You don’t have to talk about it if you don’t want to,” I said. Sebastian rubbed the back of his head, smiling.

“No, it’s fine,” he said. “He was an artist, a street artist to be exact. I fell in love with his artwork.” I leaned in with big eyes.

“How long were you two together?”

“Three years. We grew apart when we want different things. Before him, I was with a girl. You remind me of her in a way.”

“I do?”

He took my face in his hand. “You do. She was shy and kept to herself. I had to be the one to make the first move. She was a great girl once I got to know her.”

“Where is she now?”

“I can’t say. We drifted apart and moved away to Canada.”

I looked down at my hands. “Would we ever drift apart?” I meant that to be for myself. I didn’t realize what I had said until it came out of my mouth. I looked up to see Sebastian staring at me intently.

“What did you say?” I asked. My cheeks, no, my whole face turned bright red. I looked away, but he turned my face back towards him.

“Did you ask if we would ever drift apart?” he asked. I lowered my eyes to the palm of his hand.

“Yes,” I said in a small voice.

“Are you asking me this like you want to date me?”

“I don’t know, maybe…” I looked up at him. His smile and his eyes started to make me feel small again. Why does he have to be so beautiful?

“Do you want to date me?” Sebastian asked. I gulped as I pressed my lips together. I don’t really know this guy and I had to ask that. I drew my eyes closed. Suddenly, my phone rang. I ripped open my eyes and looked down at my pocket.

“Excuse me,” I said. I reached into my pocket.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Where are you guys?” Stephanie asked on the other line. “I turned around and you were nowhere in sight!”

“I’m sorry,” I said.

“Hurry up! I’m about to go in without you.”

A puzzled look came onto my face. “Where are you?”

“I’m at this shop Little Fifi’s or something like that.”

“Oh, I know where that is. We’ll be there in ten minutes.”

“Good, hurry up.”

I turned to Sebastian when Stephanie hung up. “Stephanie’s calling us to come along.” He looked at me like I had something on my face.

“What?” I asked.

“I didn’t hear an answer from you,” he said. I stared at him with big eyes as I remembered the conversation we had before. Sebastian patted me on the head.

“We’ll talk about this later,” he said in a low voice. He walked off, leaving we standing there was my mouth agape with a blank stare.

“Huh?” I asked.

“Aren’t you coming?” Sebastian asked me up ahead. I shook my head and snapped out of it.

“Uh… yeah!” I said. “Wait up!” I ran to catch up with that strange, beautiful man.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,026 hits
