City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Nine: Who is Sebastian?)

Chapter Nine: Who is Sebastian?:

Who was this beautiful man walking with us? One minute, he was taking pictures in the park. The next, he was eating, drinking, and walking around the streets with us. I tried to figure out this happened.

By now, the streets were starting to get crowded. I started to play the game of who was a tourist and who was a local. I try to stay away from the tourist traps in the city. Even in California, I did the same thing. I was even careful to stay how during the tourist season in both places. At least, Stephanie knew to stay away from tourist traps as well.

Meanwhile, Stephanie turned to Sebastian trailing behind us.

“Tell us more about yourself,” she said. “You’ve learned a little bit about us, but we still don’t know much about you.” I turned around to look at that pretty man. I too wanted to know about him. Sebastian broke into a little smile.

“Alright, what do you want to know?” he asked.

“Why did you start taking pictures?” I asked. Sebastian did a quick count in his head.

“I think I was about thirteen years old,” he said.

“What made you want to start photography?” Stephanie asked.

“My mother,” Sebastian said. “She’s really famous around Germany.”

“What is her name?” I asked.

“Sabine Fass,” he said. I covered my mouth as I gasped.

“Sabine Fass?” I asked. “You mean the lady that took photos of that village in Africa?”

“Yes,” he said. I whistled.

“So you’re mum is famous?” Stephanie asked.

“You can say that,” he said. I noticed that his face of was turning red. Stephanie threw her arms in the air.

“Sweet!” she said. “We’re travelling with a celebrity!”

“I’m not really famous,” he said in a quiet voice.

“Stephanie,” I whispered. “Stop it. You’re embarrassing him.” My friend cleared her throat.

“Anyway,” she said. “Who do you find cuter– her or me?” She pointed between herself and me. I looked up at her, wide-eyed.

“What are you doing?” I mouthed. Sebastian looked at the both of us, rubbing his chin and narrowing his eyes.

“Hm… that’s kind of hard to say,” he said. “Which one of you is Emily?” I raised my head.

“You seem cute with your hair and your face,” Sebastian said. My cheeks turned bright pink.

“You really mean that?” I asked. He turned to Stephanie. “What’s your name again?”

“Stephanie,” my friend said.

“You were cute with your dancing,” he said. That beautiful man rubbed his forehead. “Gah, it’s so hard to choose.”

“That’s okay,” Stephanie said. “You have about…” She pulled out her cell phone and swiped the screen with her finger. “A few more hours to go before you give us your answer.”

“Wait, what?” he asked. “I have a time limit? I’ve only met both of you.”

“You’ll have much longer to get to know us,” my friend said. Sebastian and I looked at her, confused. She put her hands on our shoulders.

“Now, where shall we go now?” Stephanie asked. “I feel like clubbing tonight.”

“But the clubs aren’t open yet,” I said.

“That’s okay,” she said. “We just hang around until we find something open.” My friend turned back to Sebastian. “Can you take our pictures again?” He broke into a little smile.

“I’ll have to see how much film I have left on me,” he said.

“We’re not holding up your day, are we?” I asked. “I mean, do you have to get back to the office or anything?” He shook his head.

“Nah,” he said. “I can develop my photos tomorrow morning.” Stephanie clapped her hands.

“That’s settle then,” she said. “We’ll just hang around and get to know each other better.” She put her arms around our shoulders. “This is going to be so delightful!” I looked over at Sebastian. He had the same confused expression I had. Poor guy, he has no idea. Once my friend gets an idea in her head, she’s not going to let it go until she commits to it. It looks like this day is going to get even longer. Plus it’s only three o’clock. I’m so sorry, Wendy. I don’t think I will be able to start on that book today like I had planned. I had my day all planned out too. I sighed and rubbed my forehead.

“Em!” Stephanie shouted. “Em!” I looked up and noticed that Stephanie and Sebastian had moved up a few feet ahead of me. When did they get so far away? My friend waved her arms up and down.

“What are you doing spacing out for?” she asked. “Get moving! We still have to get to know each other before Sebastian has to make his decision!” I tilted my head. She’s still going on about that? Our guy acquaintance rubbed his forehead, sighing. I feel your pain, I thought.

“Coming!” I shouted. I ran over to the other two. Stephanie put her arm around her shoulders.

“Keep up with us, okay?” she said. My friend nuzzled me on the cheek. I looked to my right and saw Sebastian smiling at me.

“Is she always like this?” he mouthed in German. I nodded once.

“What did you say?” Stephanie asked.

“Nothing, Sebastian said, waving her off.

“Oh come now,” my friend said. “Don’t start keeping secrets already. We’re supposed to be getting closer, not hiding from each other.” Sebastian’s smile sent an excited chill down my spine.

“But isn’t it better to keep some secrets to ourselves for now?” he asked. “After all, we’ve just met. Why rush in and learn everything right away?” His logic oddly struck something inside of me. Stephanie shrugged her shoulders.

“Fair enough,” she said. “But that’s all you get to keep for now, got it?”

“Yes, yes,” he said. I nodded once.

“Good,” she said. “Let us keep going on our adventure!” Sebastian shoved his hair from his face while I settled in my spot in the middle as we made own through the crowded Berlin streets.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,184 hits
