City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Seven: German Beer)

Chapter Seven: German Beer:

What am I doing here?

I don’t drink. But here I am in a bar. Stephanie and Sebastian sat on either side of me. I looked around the rest of the bar. Everyone looked buried into their drinks. The pounding music in the background did little to change the situation. My eyes glanced on either side of me. My friends enjoyed their drinks. I looked down at my own full glass.

“Are we supposed to be at a bar at night?” I asked. Stephanie put her arm around her shoulders.

“Nonsense!” she said. “German beer tastes just as good in the afternoon as it does in the nights!” I looked down at my glass.

“I wouldn’t know that,” I mumbled to no one in particular. Sebastian looked up at me.

“You don’t drink?” he asked. I shook my head.

“Why is that?”

I shrugged my shoulders. “Never really had the never. I’ve had wine before when I was fifteen. It didn’t taste good, though.”

“Hmm…” Stephanie said.

“Only wine?” Sebastian asked. “My uncle gave me my first taste of beer when I was fifteen.”

“How did it taste?” my friend asked.

“Awful,” he said. “I am not a huge beer person.”

“Well, what do you have there?” I asked. Sebastian held up his glass.”

“Light beer,” he said. “I can’t stand the taste and texture of regular beer.”

“I’ve been trying to get him to drink the stuff for years,” the bartender said. “Hasn’t worked yet.”

“Thanks, Hans,” Sebastian said. I looked down in my glass.

“You gonna finish that?” Stephanie asked. “At least try it out.”

“Okay,” I said. I picked up my glass and took a sip. I wrinkled my nose at the bitter, licorice taste.

“Not good, huh?” Sebastian asked. I shook my head.

“Want to try mine?” he asked. He slid his glass over to me and took a sip of his.

“How is that one?” Stephanie asked. I nodded and pressed my lips together.

“Not too bad,” I said.

“Would you like his?”

“I’ll try a little more.”

“Can I have yours?”

I looked at Stephanie’s full glass in front of her. “What about yours?” My friend downed her glass of beer.

“Now can I have yours?” she asked. I made a face as I slid my glass over to her. Stephanie downed that one as well. Sebastian raised his eyebrow.

“She really knows how to drink, doesn’t she?” he whispered. I slowly nodded once. Stephanie slammed down the glass, laughing.

“I can handle drinking very well,” she said. Sebastian and I eyed her. My friend smiled at our new acquaintance like a cat.

“Tell me, Sebastian,” she said. “What do you think of my girl, Em?” My eyes widened when she said that. What are you doing? Sebastian pushed back his black hair.

“She does look really cute,” he said. I whipped my head around, blushing. I rubbed the back of head, laughing.

“You can’t really mean that,” I said. “That’s just the beer talking, right?” I stopped laughing when I noticed a strangely gentle, hungry look in his eyes. Again, I felt myself shrinking in his gaze.

“Oh…” I muttered.

“Is that a problem?” he asked. I quickly shook my head.

“Anything else about her?” Stephanie asked. My whole body went stiff. Sebastian shrugged his shoulders.

“I don’t know,” he said. “I don’t really know her.”

“Would you like to get to know her?”

“Yes.”

I stared at Sebastian as he spoke. Deep inside, I had hoped that this was the beer talking. Could he really mean what he was talking about? Stephanie has played this game before when I was too shy to confess to a guy that I liked. I had a bad feeling like this. Stephanie leaned in closer.

“Would you like to go out with Em?” she asked. I tightly shut my eyes. Oh no, here it comes.

“Probably,” Sebastian said.

“Would you like to fuck Em?” Stephanie asked. I ripped open my eyes as I looked back and forth between my friends. Sebastian’s face turned bright red as he rubbed the back of his head, chuckling.

“Maybe…” he said. I felt like fainting. Stephanie grabbed me from behind, giggling.

“If you do all of that,” she said aloud. “You will have to share her with me because she is my best friend!”

“Wait, are you…” he began to ask.

“No,” we both said.

“We’re just really good friends!” Stephanie said. My face turned bright red. Sebastian raised his eyebrow.

“Okay…” he said. I managed to push my friend off of me.

“I need a drink,” I said in a low voice. Sebastian shoved his glass over to me. I grabbed it and drank up. I about fell off my bar stool.

“Are you okay?” Stephanie asked. I rubbed my head.

“I feel kind of dizzy,” I said.

“Take it easy,” Sebastian said. Stephanie put up her hand in the arm.

“Bartender, a glass of water for my friend here,” she said. Our acquaintance translated what she said because she went so fast. The man behind the bar nodded and poured me a glass of water.

“Here, drink this,” Stephanie said. I took the glass and drank up. I breathed in slowly.

“I think we’ll slow for down for a bit here,” she whispered in my ear. I slowly nodded. Stephanie turned her attention to Sebastian.

“Are you sure that was a light beer?” she asked.

“Yes,” he said. “I guess that she doesn’t have a good alcohol tolerance.” I softly moaned as I rubbed my forehead. Stephanie brushed her lips together as he nodded.

“I think you’re right,” she said. My friend laid my head down on the bar.

“Take it easy,” she whispered. I remembered something similar to this happened our senior year. I don’t remember the full details, but I know there was no alcohol involved. Stephanie probably did something that embarrassed me, I did something to cope, that ended in disaster, and Stephanie had to take cover of me afterwards. She may be crazy at times, but she was a good friend when it was said and done.

I just wish I could remember what happened to put me in that situation in the first place.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
