City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Eight: Senior Year)

Chapter Eight: Senior Year:

As soon at the music in the bar changed, Stephanie perked up.

“I can dance to this song!” she said. My friend jumped up from her bar stool and started dancing around on the floor. Sebastian and I watched her move to the fast, techno beats. I sat up as I remembered how Stephanie and I first met.

-2012-

I made a decent amount of friends throughout my high school years. I talked to people, but I wasn’t much of a person to go out and hang out with my friends. I mostly hung around at home watching TV and playing fashion designing games. My mom tried to get me to be more sociable.

“You should be making happy high school memories with your friends,” she would say. I would just shrug and stare at the screen. I was just content with staying at home, watching TV, and playing my games.

That’s when I met her.

I remember the day I first met her.

The spring semester had begun and I was sitting in my drama class. I expected to try and force myself to wing it until graduation. I had almost all of the credits I needed. I just needed my electives. I just filled up my schedule with slightly unless classes to pass the time. I sat in my drama class expecting it to be a bore. The teacher walked in and introduced herself. Her name was Mrs. Peterson. I remember that she had wild hair and smelled like cigarette smoke. That day, she had dark blue fingernails.

“Good morning class,” she said. “Turn around and introduce yourself to your neighbor. Give them your name, what you want to be after graduation, your hobbies, and your favorite kitchen item.” At first, we stared at her. We all thought the same thing, “What the hell is this?”

“Come on,” she said. “Do it.” One by one, we all started to introduce ourselves. I turned behind me and saw this girl with wild red hair grinning at me.

“Good’day, mate!” she said. Something about the way she smiled felt unnerving. I backed up blinking.

“You’re English?” I asked.

“Australian, actually,” this girl said.

I lowered my head. “I’m sorry.”

“It’s okay. I’m Stephanie Martin. I want to be an actress after graduation. I love acting, dancing, creating plays, singing, and playing basketball. I think I would be a steak knife.”

“Okay… I’m Emily Crawford. I don’t know what I want to do after graduation, but I do want to go to Germany. I love playing fashion designing games and Germany. I guess I would be a spoon.”

Stephanie gave me an odd look. “Why a spoon?”

I shrugged. “I don’t know.”

She pouted at me. “You don’t know?”

“I just came up with it in my head. And why would you want to be a steak knife.”

Stephanie tilted her head, thinking. “I guess because of the blade.”

“Huh?”

“I mean, it’s all sharp and shiny.”

“You are weird.”

“Aren’t we all?”

I thought that I would only see her in my drama and around school. Any thought of that disappeared when I went to my locker at the end of the day.

“Em! Em!” I heard someone shouting. I turned around to see Stephanie running towards me in the crowded hall. You could imagine my shock as she pushed through the crowd to close the distance.

“Yes?” I asked. She paused to catch her breath.

“Are you doing anything this weekend?” she asked. I blinked at her.

“Not much, why?” I asked. Stephanie put her arm around my shoulders.

“Let’s hang out today,” she said. A strange expression came onto my face.

“Why?” I asked.

“Let’s be friends,” that strange girl said. My eyes widened as every thought in my head went blank. Where did all of this come from? I only have one class with this girl and she doesn’t really know me.

“Why do you want to be my friend?” I asked.

“Why not?” she asked.

“But I don’t even know you.”

“You know my name, what I want to be when I graduate, what I like, and my favorite kitchen item.” She looked at me intently when she talked. I didn’t know whether to laugh or run away screaming. Something told me that she wasn’t going to take no for an answer. I looked away as I bit my lower lip.

“You really sure about this?” I asked in a soft voice.

“Yes,” Stephanie insisted. “So, what do you say?”

“Uh…” I said. I don’t know how it happened, but somehow I ended up saying yes. I tried to remember what all we did that afternoon, but I think I was trying to figure it out for myself. Some girl with the wild red hair and the loud Australian accent decided to latch onto me and wouldn’t explain why. My head was spinning and before I knew, she came back to my house. My mom was thrilled to learn that I had a new friend.

“My name is Stephanie,” she introduced herself as. My mom loved her Australian accent. Me on the other hand, was still trying to cope with how all of this happened.

-Present Day-

Sebastian turned and looked at me. “Is she always like this?”

“Yeah,” I said.

“How do you keep up?”

I flipped back my brown hair. “I don’t. I just let her drag me along.” I broke into a smile. “Still, she’s my friend. My life would be kind of boring if I hadn’t met her.”

“Huh?”

Stephanie dashed over to us, panting. She put her hands on her knees. “I think I found a new favorite song. I’m going to have to look it up later.”

“Finished?” I asked. My friend stood up, smiling.

“Yep,” she said. “Where to next?” I turned to Sebastian.

“What do you want to do?” I asked. He shrugged.

“I have no idea,” he said. Stephanie patted us on the shoulders.

“Let’s not think about,” she said. “Just go with the flow, mates!” My friend danced her way out of the bar. Sebastian paid the tab before he and I followed after her.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
