City Lounge: Berlin (Book One, Chapter Four: The Chocolate Shop)

Chapter Four: The Chocolate Shop:

Inside of the chocolate shop looked so gold and vintage. The sweets looked like flowers on racks made of crystal. The chandelier had me staring at the ceiling. I have only looked at this place from the outside. The price tags kept me from going inside. Stephanie’s eyes lit up as she looked around.

“They are so beautiful,” she said.

“Uh-huh,” I said, nodding. Today’s theme was Versailles before the French Revolution. I licked my lips at a great pink chocolate heart. I had to draw back my fingers from the tempting frosting before I swallowed back my drool.

“Do you want that?” Stephanie whispered behind me in my ear. I jumped and turned around.

“Don’t do that,” I hissed. My old friend giggled.

“Well, do you?” she asked. I lowered my eyes to my feet.

“Maybe…” I mumbled.

“So why not get it?”

“It’s too expensive!”

Stephanie put her arm around my shoulders. “Don’t worry about it today. Just indulge in yourself. Go a little crazy with the chocolate.”

“But…”

“Look, I will make the first purchase.” Stephanie walked up to the glass counter and rang the gold bell.

“Yoo-hoo!” she shouted. “Can we have some service?” A woman in a brown apron walked out to the counter.

“Welcome to Angela’s Chocolate. How can I help you today?” she greeted us. Stephanie motioned me over to her side. I reluctantly joined her as she cleared her throat.

“What are your specials for today?” she asked.

“Well,” the clerk said. “We just got in a shipment of Vivani chocolate.” Stephanie’s eyes lit up.

“Ooo, do you have samples?” she asked.

“Yes, I do,” the clerk said. She disappeared into the back. When she returned, she had a tray full of chocolate pieces with a small jar of toothpicks. Stephanie smiled and picked up a toothpick.

“Thank you,” she said. She stabbed a piece of dark chocolate and put it in her mouth.

“How is it?” I asked. She turned to me with a big closed-mouth smile on her face.

“That good, huh?” I asked. I looked at the tray of chocolate pieces. I could’ve sworn they were screaming at me to eat them. I shook my head. No, I can’t do it. I couldn’t afford anything in this store anyway. But they looked so tasty. Maybe one piece wouldn’t hurt. I picked up a toothpick and picked up a piece of dark chocolate as well. As soon as it hit my tongue, I felt like flying away to heaven. I didn’t think I would ever see stars in my eyes. I turned to Stephanie as my knees shook. She gave me a thumbs-up. The clerk broke into a little smile.

“Would you girls like more?” she asked. Stephanie and I nodded in unison. I think that was the first time I stuffed my face with so much chocolate. Stephanie watched as I ate more and more pieces.

“Easy there, mate!” she said. “You won’t have room for lunch.” My cheeks turned red when I heard her.

“I’m not eating that much,” I said.

“You ate more than I did.”

“Shut up!”

Stephanie covered her mouth as she laughed. I puffed up my cheeks.

“You ate way more than I did,” I muttered under my breath. My friend turned back to the clerk with the now empty tray.

“We’re ready to make a purchase,” she said. The clerk perked up, but nervously laughed.

“Alright then,” she said. “What would you like to purchase?” Stephanie looked over to me.

“Well, my friend would like to buy that big pink chocolate heart over there,” she said, pointing behind her. I stared at her with big eyes. My friend winked at me.

“Don’t worry, I have this,” she whispered. Her eyes turned back to the clerk. “As for me, I would like your Vivani, Divine, and Hachez chocolates.”

“Would you like them gift wrapped?” the clerk asked.

“Yes, please,” Stephanie said. I stood back as she made the purchases. Somehow, I felt okay with this. Maybe having her lead me around won’t be so bad.

“Thank you for shopping with us,” the clerk said to Stephanie as she handed her the bags. “And have a good day.”

“You too,” my friend said. She turned around and handed me my chocolate.

“Are you ready to go?” she asked.

“Okay,” I said. I followed her out of the chocolate shop without a word. Was I supposed to be the one leading her around on a tour of something? What happened here? Stephanie looked at me over her shoulder.

“Where to next?” she asked. I slowly shook my head.

“I… don’t know…” I said. Stephanie tilted her head and gave me a strange look.

“You don’t know?” she asked. “Aren’t you supposed to be leading this tour?”

“I was until you took it over.”

She threw back her head and laughed. “Okay, okay. Where do you want to go next, friend?”

I tried to dig around in my brain for an answer. I didn’t expect her to put me on the spot like that. I looked around on the street as I tried to think. I don’t usually hang around Friedrichstraße any longer than I have to. (It’s too flashy and expensive for my taste.) I think Stephanie could see that uncertainty in my eyes. She patted me on the shoulder.

“We don’t have to stay around here if you don’t want to,” she said. My face lit up as those words rung in my ears.

“Can we go to the park then?” I asked. Stephanie looked down at the bags of chocolate in our hands.

“Sure thing,” she said. “We can pick up a lunch and have a picnic while we do more catching up.”

“I would like that,” I said, smiling.

“Do you have a place in mind?”

“I sure do.”

Stephanie stepped behind me. “Then lead the way, my lady.” I couldn’t help but to giggle as I walked in front.

“Slow down, mate!” she shouted. I smiled as she ran to catch up with me. We walked out of Friedrichstraße just as the street started to get busy for the day.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
