City Lounge: Paris (Book One, Chapter Thirteen: Simone’s World)

Chapter Thirteen: Simone’s World:

Saturday came and I waited around in my living room. Simone said that she was coming to pick me up at ten. I stood almost stunned in that cafe on my path home.

“So… wait? Is this a date?” I asked. Simone playfully shrugged her shoulders.

“Maybe…” she said. I frowned and narrowed my eyes at her.

“Why do you always do this to me?” I asked.

“Do what?”

I rolled my eyes over the phone. “You always tease and never give any answers! Why?”

“Do I now?”

I pushed back my hair from my eyes. “Cut it out!” Simone’s only response was laughter over the other line.

“Alright, alright,” she said. “This will be our first real date.” My jaw just dropped.

“No way…” I said.

“Are you happy?”

I slowly nodded on the other line. “Yes…”

“Good, because it’s going to get better tomorrow. Bye.” She hung up before I could say a word. I sank to my knees in shock. I put my hands to my chest before screaming so loud that I could be heard outside of my apartment. I rolled around on the floor, laughing. I, William Richardson, got a date. She’s not the rebound girl either!

This morning, I lifted my head when I heard a knock on the door.

“Coming!” I shouted. I raced to the door and peeked out the peep hole. Simone stood outside, looking in.

“Hello!” she said. I quickly opened the door. She smiled as she played with her indigo braids.

“Hey there,” I said. I leaned in and gave her a quick kiss on the lips.

“How are you?” I asked.

“Fine,” she said. “And you?”

I smiled as shrugged my shoulders. “Good. Shall we go?” Simone grabbed onto my arm and walked me out of my apartment.

“Slow down!” I shouted. Simone’s laughter reached the stairs before we did.

Today, she took me to lunch at La Petite Rose des Sables. I looked around rather impressed. I whistled at how cheap the prices of this place were. Simone looked at me over her shoulder.

“I decided to go a little bit low maintenance today,” she said. “The food’s really good and affordable for my wallet.”

“What about your mom’s place?” I asked. Simone snorted and rolled her eyes.

“Too boring,” she said. “Too familiar. I want some excitement today.” I didn’t know if she was joking or serious. Excitement always seemed to follow her around. Voicing that to her, would be stating the obvious.

Simone and I took a seat by the window. I looked and saw my potential girlfriend smiling at me like a cat.

“So, what’s on the agenda today?” I asked.

“There is no agenda,” she said.

I made a face at her. “What?”

That indigo queen stretched her arms above her head. “This is a do as a feel-type of day. We just do as the city flows through us.”

“I’m not following.”

“Then follow!”

“But how?”

“You sure like to ask a lot of questions.”

I pushed my brown-framed glasses up on my nose. “That’s because you aren’t giving a whole lot to work with.” I leaned back in my chair. “I mean, there is still so much I don’t know about you. What do you like to do? Who are your friends? Things like that.”

Simone lowered her arms from above her head. “I am a free wolf. I just do as I pleased.”

“Yes, I noticed.”

“I refuse to change. So you will have to accept me and go along with what this date has to offer us.” She picked up her menu and began looking through the different items on the lists. I sat there, blinking.

“Uh…” was all I could say. I picked up a menu with big eyes and looked through the food items myself as I listened to the faint French pop music flowing through the speakers in the background. This was Simone’s world and I just had to play my part in it if I was sticking to this bizarre ride.

“Lunch is on me,” she said. “I just got my payback yesterday and I thought I would treat you to something nice.” I lowered my menu with a puzzled look on my face.

“Oh, you don’t have to do that,” I said. “It just wouldn’t feel right.”

Simone glanced up at me from her own menu. “Why is that?”

I shrugged my shoulders. “Well… you’re the woman and I’m the man. I feel like I am kind making you pay for everything. You bought my coffee and you paid for my night at that Hookah lounge. I feel like I have to do something if we’re going to be in a relationship.”

“It’s fine.”

“But…”

Simone took hold of my hand. “It’s fine.” I drew my mouth closed and looked down at my menu again.

“At least to me treat you to something in the near future,” I said under my breath. That indigo queen pretended not to hear me.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,023 hits
