City Lounge: Paris (Book One, Chapter Eleven: Smoky Lounge)

Chapter Eleven: Smoky Lounge:

Thursday night, Simone took me out to a special type of lounge. I had the sinking feeling that she and I were moving too fast. Last night, I met her mother and half-sisters. We slept together three times already. I couldn’t understand why she was so interested in me in the first place. The more I asked, the more she would dodge me question. Through those days, I still didn’t know anything about her. Sure, I met her family, but that was all I knew. From our first dance in that club, she had her hooks into me and wouldn’t let up.

Simone stretched her neck at our table under the deep blue lights. I looked down at my cup of red juice and couldn’t hold back anymore.

“Why do you like me so much?” I asked. I looked up and saw those dark brown eyes locked on me.

“Does everything have to have a reason for you?” she asked.

“Well… yes,” I said.

“Take a look around you,” Simone said. I looked around through the hazy lights and thin smoke. We were in a Hookah lounge called Isis Cafe. I have never smoked in my life. I didn’t even understand why were here in the first place. Simone took a hit from a hookah.

“You smoke?” I asked her in a whisper when we first walked in.

“From time to time,” she said. I didn’t know what to make of this. Never in my wildest dreams would I even dream of walking into a hookah lounge in my life. Even the traitor didn’t smoke.

“So your mom runs a cafe out of your house?” I asked at our table.

“Yeah,” Simone said. “She got the money after Papa went back to Switzerland.”

“I see.”

She handed the mouthpiece of the hookah to me. I kindly pushed it away. Simone gave me a cute little pout.

“I don’t smoke,” I said.

“Why must you be so uptight all the time?” Simone asked.

I shrugged my shoulders as I looked out the window behind us. “That’s just how I am.”

“That almost makes me sad to hear.”

“What exactly do you do for a living?”

Simone held up her fingers in a rectangle and looked at me as if studying my face. “Freelance photography.”

“Is that right?”

“Would you like to see my photo collection some time?”

“Okay.” I took a drink of the red juice that I had been holding for minutes now. I made a face as soon as the liquid hit my tongue.

“Yuck! What is this?” I asked. Simone threw back her head and laughed. Somehow, I couldn’t be mad at such a sound that reminded me of summer rain.

“It’s a special blend of the cafe,” she said. “They give this out to the first time customers.” I shoved my glass across the glass table. Simone gave me an angelic look.

“You don’t like it?” she asked.

“It’s too bitter,” I complained. She handed me the mouthpiece once again.

“Just take a puff of this,” Simone said. “It will get rid of the bad taste.”

“No thanks!” I said.

“You sure?”

“I’m good.”

Simone shrugged and took a smoke herself. “Okay then.” She looked so content to be smoking flavored tobacco in this place. The more I hung around this indigo queen, the more she pulled me into her strange world. I didn’t know if I wanted to stay or run away.

“I am curious about something, though,” Simone said.

“Hm?” I asked.

She set down her mouthpiece. “Why are you in Paris? You don’t strike me as the type who would leave the states for another country so easily.”

“Internship.”

“For what company?”

“Wings International.”

Simone whistled. “How did you get into a place like this?”

I laughed as I rubbed the back of my head. “It’s a long story really.” I wasn’t aloud to talk about Paula with her. Simone said that she wanted to make forget all about that traitor. But why?

“Simone,” I spoke up with my eyes locked on hers. “What exactly are we? Are we dating now or what?” She tapped me on the nose again.

“That is all up to you,” that indigo queen said.

“Why do you want me to forget about my ex so much?”

Simone sat back and took another smoke with a smile on her face. I sat back and looked up at the ceiling. Fine, she won’t tell me. I’ll play her game a little bit longer. I will follow through this madness and take it all with a smile.

“What are we going to do tomorrow?” I asked. Simone shrugged as she looked up at me.

“That will depend on my mood,” she said. “And don’t worry about tonight. It’s all on me.” I raised my eyebrow at her.

“Just like the coffee?” I asked.

“Just like the coffee,” Simone repeated.

“Uh-huh… Okay…” I looked out the window again. A lovey-dovey couple walked by. The woman leaned on her boyfriend’s shoulder, giggling and smiling. The man smiled and patted her on the head. That used to be Paula and me. With that be Simone and me soon? I looked down at my hands on the table. I already agreed to go on this crazy ride. Why stop now?

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,181 hits
