City Lounge: Paris (Book One, Chapter Eight: New Mystery)

Chapter Eight: New Mystery:

One week later, Simone started hanging around me. I couldn’t understand why. I thought that night and that morning would be it. We would go our separate ways and I would go back to self-pity for god knows how long. It would be the end.

Funny, it didn’t work that way. Simone seemed to know how to find me in public places. We would talk, hang out, and she would end up back at my apartment. I couldn’t understand how or why this kept happening.

For some reason, I started not to mind it either.

Monday brought business as usual. I went to work rather reluctantly. Sadly, that traitor would be there too. It made me sick to look at Paula. She acted all happy with our work friends. They talked what they saw on TV and how their weekend was. Those guys were more of her friends, not mine. I don’t care. My weekend beats theirs any day of the week.

I frowned to myself. I still have to work, right. I sighed and looked at my computer at my desk. Maybe it’s time to look for a new job. But where would I go? This temp agency was the only way that I could say in Paris for now. (I was still learning French at the time and I only knew Hugo.)

I leaned back in my chair and frowned. I had counted on another boring, slow day at work.

That all changed when I got home that evening. Every day after work, I would stop by this small cafe. Most of the items were too pricey, but I liked to sit inside because of the smell of coffee. I walked through the glass doors and let the smell of coffee fill my nose.

“Boujour!” the girl behind the counter greeted me.

“Bonjour,” I greeted her back. The scent of the fresh coffee pulled me inside. “You always have great smelling coffee.”

“Thank you so much,” the girl behind the counter said.

“It tastes even better,” a familiar voice filled my ears. I about jumped when I looked over at the bar. There she was. Simone looked up with a cup in her hand.

“Hello,” she said. I backed up as my mouth tried to form words.

“It’s you!” I said.

“Yes,” Simone said. “You come here too?”

“I could ask you the same thing.”

I rubbed the back of my head as I shuffled my feet. “I come here because I like the smell of the coffee.” She gave me this weird smile as she patted the stool next to her. As if under a spell, I walked over and sat down next to her. Simone stuck up her hand to barista.

“A coffee for my friend here,” she said. I turned to her with big eyes.

“Wait now!” I shouted.

“Coming up!” the barista said. I turned to Simone with puffed up cheeks.

“Why did you do that?” I asked. She giggled over her coffee.

“Why enjoy coffee if you don’t drink it?” that Indigo queen asked.

“Too expensive,” I said.

She snorted. “Weak excuse.”

I put my hands on my hips. “Excuse me, but I can’t afford pricey coffee every day.” She put her hand on my shoulder.

“Try and live a little.”

“I don’t have the money to.”

She smacked me hard on the back. “That’s why you have me.”

“Ow. Wait… what?”

Her eyes wouldn’t stop pulling me in as she grinned at me. “You hang around with me and I will free you from your boring life.” My eyes shifted left and right.

“Why would you do that?” I asked. She put her skinny finger to my lips.

“Don’t ask questions,” Simone whispered. “Go with it.” The barista returned with a cup of fresh, hot coffee and Simone handed it to me.

“Drink up, my dear paramore,” she said. “It’s better to taste it than to smell it.” I sat there blinking before I took a drink myself. The coffee was good, but I couldn’t understand her. Simone sat there drinking her coffee and I didn’t know anything about her. Who was this queen and why was she so interested in me. Simone set down her cup.

“Don’t worry about the price,” she said. “It’s all on me.” I gave her a blank stare.

“Okay…” I said. I really don’t get that woman.

And that was only Monday.

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,184 hits
