City Lounge: Paris (Book One, Chapter Three: The Morning After)

Chapter Three: The Morning After:

Ugh.

I don’t want to get up and go work. I would have to see that traitor’s face again. The job itself isn’t the problem. It’s just going to be awkward working with the ex. There is no life class in the world that prepares you for it.

I wanted to yell at the sun to go away. I almost miss those golden curtains Paula hung over the window. They kept out the awful sunlight. The color was ugly, but they were pretty useful. Looks like I will have to find new curtains to block out the light. The blinds aren’t doing jack.

I rolled over in my bed. What does it matter? My life sucks now. I have already gotten used to living in a foreign country with a job that I wasn’t so enthusiastic about in the beginning. I did it all to make that traitor happy. Now that the motive left me for another man, what’s the point anymore?

I rolled over. The ceiling looked like it was going to crash down on me.  That wouldn’t be so bad right now to be honest.

I finally dragged myself out of bed. What’s the point of staying in if I’m just going to think bad thoughts and not go back to sleep? I picked up my cell phone.

Thirty-one missed calls and it’s eight in the morning. I rolled my eyes. It’s probably the boss calling me to make sure I didn’t kill myself. No, I’m fine. Still pissed, but I’m fine. Really I am. I dropped my head. Why do I keep doing this to myself? I needed to think about something else. My first objection was to call into work.

“Hello?” I asked.

“William?” my boss, Gaston, asked. “Are you feeling okay?” I rubbed on my forehead.

“Yeah, yeah,” I said. “I just had a long night last night.”

“Did you hook up with anyone?”

“No…”

“I’m sorry to hear that.”

I rolled my eyes. Must every French guy in my life be a pervert? (I know most of them aren’t, but the ones in my personal life are.) “Listen, I will be late getting in, sir.”

“Don’t bother,” Gaston said. I eyed my phone in an odd way.

“What?” I asked.

“Yeah, just take the day off. You deserve it.”

“I’m fine, really I am.”

“See you tomorrow.” He hung up before I could argue again. I stared at my phone, frowning. My boss is just like Hugo. Why are the French men in my personal life perverted and don’t listen to me. I lowered my phone and sighed. Now what?

I pretty much did nothing around the half-empty apartment for most of the day. The work was boring sometimes, but this is worse. I at least had Paula and her big forehead to look forward to. Now… yeah.

There wasn’t much on TV today. More news on the Charlie Hebdo attack. I remembered that day. It was the first time I thought about marrying Paula. That all went out the window when the first reports broke. The city was on the verge of melting down. Heh, at least it bounced back unlike my relationship with that traitor!

I gritted my teeth. I hate when I end up thinking about Paula. I need something else to think about. But first…

Now, I rarely drink. Today… just kind of happened. That traitor was “nice” enough to leave all of her alcohol behind. I just grabbed the first bottle I saw and downed it from the tap. That first drink was pretty quick to hit me.

“Whew!” I said. The whole room was spinning. I staggered back to the living room and fell down on what I thought was the couch. It didn’t take long for me to black out.

In my out cold haze, I began to remember that indigo queen. (I didn’t know what I was thinking in this drunken land that I was visiting. My mind went back to our dance. Something about that was really hot. Even though I was just the prop and she was the star, I couldn’t help but to be sucked in. I had so many questions about her. Who was she? Where was she? Where did she come from? Her face took over my head.

But wait, lying here thinking about her won’t get me anywhere. I would have to go back to that club to find her. But, I don’t party. I just stayed home and sat at my computer in the evening. That’s probably why Paula dumped me.

I steered my mind away from the traitor. It’s because of her I was drunk and out cold. It was because of her that Hugo dragged me out to the club last night. It was because of her that Gaston made me take a day off. It was because of her that I met that indigo queen last night. Speaking of that queen, she pushed Paula out of my head and pulled me back into her sexy dancing. I had to see her again. I had to get to know her. But what would happen after that? Would she turn me down? Maybe she would betray me like the traitor did. Or what if something beautiful could happen? My drunken, out cold mind kept jumping back and forth until the final answer came to me.

Oh…

Hours later, I awoke with a thumping headache. Even through that, another flash of that indigo queen showed up in my mind. I had to see her again. Right then, my phone rang. I had to crawl over and get it.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Friend!” Hugo shouted on the other line. “Let’s go out tonight! We need to get you laid since Paula left you.” Usually, I would try to argue with him and try to talk my way of his high-energy plan. But for some reason…

I nodded once. “Okay…”

“Good. I’ll get you in thirty minutes.” He hung up as I made up my mind of what I had to do.

To be Continued…

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,021 hits
