City Lounge: Paris (Book One, Chapter One: A Sudden Slap)

City Lounge: Paris

Chapter One: A Sudden Slap:

-Will-

I sat at our kitchen table with my jaw dropped.

“What?!” I shouted loud enough to wake up any neighbors that might be still asleep in our apartment complex. My beautiful blonde girlfriend, Paula, lowered her head.

“I’m so sorry, Will,” she said. My fork hit my plate.

“You’re breaking up with me because you’ve been seeing another man behind my back?” I asked.

“I’m so sorry.”

“Do I know him?”

“Babe…”

“Do I know him, Paula? Do I know him?!”

My soon-to-be ex-girlfriend rubbed her big forehead. “No.” I sat back with my arms across my chest and sighed. I should’ve gotten a clue when Paula insisted on going out every night. She was always on the phone around three in the morning, but she insisted that it was with her mom. Paula even talked about starting a modeling career.

“For how long?” I asked, glaring at the traitor sitting before me. She put up her hands, shaking her head. I slammed my hands against the table. The plates and glasses jumped in place.

“How long have you been seeing this guy behind my back?!” I roared.

“Keep your voice down, Will,” Paula said in a low voice. “You’re going to have our neighbors coming down here asking questions.”

“I don’t care! We might as well get out all of the dirty laundry while we’re at it? What else have you been hiding from me, huh? How long have you been seeing him? Have you spent the night at his place? Where did you find this guy? How many times have you fucked him? Did you even suck his dick?!”

Paula gritted her teeth. “Now you’re just overreacting.”

I’m overreacting?! I have every right to be so mad at you right now! You cheated on me!” I stood up and walked out of the kitchen. “This is bullshit!”

“Will…” Paula said. I gave her the middle finger as I disappeared down the hall. Paris was supposed to be the “revival” of our love. Ha, revival my ass! I never even wanted to leave the States for this internship. It was all Paula’s idea.

She always wanted to go to France ever since she was a little girl. All because of the Madeline books and the romantic illusion that everyone wants to tack onto Paris so desperately. Thinking about it now makes me cringe. I sat down on our bedroom floor, brooding with my knees to my chest.

“Babe,” Paula said as she knocked on the door. “I didn’t mean to hurt you like this.”

“I don’t want to hear it!” I shouted. I put my hands over my ears.

“Babe.”

“Shut up!”

Paula sighed in the hall. “Will, don’t be like this. Let’s talk about this.”

“What is there to talk about? You cheated on me with some guy and now you want nothing to do with me! You probably got bored of me and wanted some hot Parisian guy to fuck.”

“I never said that,” Paula said.

“You didn’t have to say that,” I said. “You said it with your words. I get it. I’m sorry I’ve become so boring to you now.”

“It’s not that, Will.”

“Then what is it? Have I neglected you or something? I’m sorry that I’m not good enough for you, princess!”

“Babe–“

“Don’t call me ‘babe’, bitch!” Every time she opened her mouth, I wanted to scream. There was nothing she could say that could possibly make this any better. I just wanted a giant hole to up and swallow me up.

“What do you want from me, Will?” Paula asked. It took my all to not break down screaming.

“Get out,” I said at last.

“What?” my new ex asked. I lay down on the ugly fuchsia carpet that she insisted that we have when we first moved into the apartment. The raspberry smell made my stomach turn.

“Get out,” I repeated. “I don’t want to see your face for the rest of the day!”

“Wha? Uh! You can’t kick me out!”

“Yes I can! I’m doing it right now!”

“But… where I am supposed to go?”

“I don’t care! You should’ve thought about that before you cheated on me! I bought this apartment and I can kick you out if I want! Why don’t you go and move in with that French douchebag your fucking?!”

“Now, you’re just mad and saying stuff you don’t mean.”

“Oh, I mean it this time! I want you gone before this day is over!”

“Will!”

“I don’t care what you have to say anymore! There is nothing you can say to change this! I don’t want to talk to you or see your face! Just get your things and get out!”

“Will…”

“Get out!”

“But most of my stuff is in our room.”

“So?”

“How am I supposed to get it out?” She backed up as I opened the door. I must have had the look of death on my face when I saw that big forehead of hers again.

“Fine,” I grumbled. I walked past her in the hall.

“Will?” Paula asked. “Where are you going?”

“To work,” I said. “You better have packed up and left when I get back.”

“Aw, Will, you can’t really mean that…” She went quiet as I turned my head, glaring at her. It took my all not to run over to her and strangle her just to shut her up. I turned back to the front door.

“My shift ends at seven this evening,” I said. “I don’t want to see anything of yours here by then. You understand me?”

“But, Will…”

“You understand me?”

The traitor lowered her head. “Alright, you win.” I snorted and walked out the door.

——–

By seven o’clock, I came home to a half-empty apartment. I frowned as I flopped down onto the bed I once shared with Paula. One year in Paris came to this, huh? Everyone at work was whispering behind my back. I bet they knew all along. Assholes! They could’ve said something, anything! I still wished that I could disappear from this crappy day.

Then my phone rang.

“Hello?” I asked.

“Friend!” a deep French voice said on the other line. I narrowed my eyes behind my glasses.

“Hugo?” I asked.

“I heard about what happened with Paula. I’m sorry, my friend.”

“Spare me, would ya? I just want to die right now.”

“That won’t do! I’m taking you out on the tonight.”

I lifted my head with a strange look on my face. “What?”

“I will be down at your place in ten minutes. Meet me at the front door.”

“Hugo, wait–!” He hung up before I had a chance to argue. I stared at my phone. What the hell, man? Nevertheless, I got up, changed into some causal clothes, and waited by the front door. I opened up when the doorbell buzzed. Hugo greeted me with a grin.

“Ready to go, friend?” he asked.

“Not really,” I mumbled. Hugo smacked me on the back.

“Let’s go,” he said. My French pal grabbed me by the arm and dragged me out of the apartment before I had a chance to argue.

To be Continued…

Please follow this blog by clicking the “follow” button on the side bar. Tell two people and maybe they in turn will tell two more people and so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
