Controversial Album Covers VII (Pt. 16)

Year: 2013

(Note: I am stretching out the covers this year because I am coming up short. Hopefully next year, wiki will give me more to work with.)

Lady Gaga and R. Kelly: Do What U Want

 
The Problem: The single cover is a close-up of Lady Gaga’s buttocks wearing a blue, floral thong. Lady Gaga’s blonde wig hangs just above her thong-clad buttocks. The image was taken by photographer Terry Richardson. A censored version of the cover featuring a pale mauve coloured skirt edited over the top of her buttocks was used in selected countries in the Middle East.
My Take: I can understand it’s culture reasons for this censorship. Then again, we got used to seeing Lady Gaga naked after watching American Horror Story: Hotel. So… half in one hand and six in the other I suppose?
Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,184 hits
