Controversial Album Covers VII (Pt. 10)

Year: 1999

(Note: I am stretching out the covers this year because I am coming up short. Hopefully next year, wiki will give me more to work with.)

CKY: Volume 1
The Problem: The cover originally depicted a stylized cartoon depiction of R. Budd Dwyer’s live television suicide. After many complaints of offensiveness, the label forced the band to replace the offensive cover with a black and white cut-out of one of the band’s live performances. The album was released with the band’s original name Camp Kill Yourself, which was switched to CKY.
My Take: This reminds me of the Filter song, “Hey Man, Nice Shot”. Camp Kill Yourself, lovely name there. On another note, I will have to look up more about R. Budd Dwyer later on when I have the time.
Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,181 hits
