Author/Artist Spotlist

I decided to try something new for each month. I’m trying to figure this out as I go along. Work with me here as I try to blend the interests of both manga and literature fans with this segment on the blog.

Author/Artist Spotlight for December:

Name: Takahashi Rumiko

Date of Birth: October 10, 1957

Place of Birth: Niigata, Japan

Notable Works: Urusei Yatsura, Maison Ikkoku, Ranma ½, and InuYasha

Things I’ve Noticed about Her: I have seen the movies and anime series InuYasha, InuYasha: The Final Act, the live action special of Ranma 1/2, and started watching the anime series for Urusei Yatsura. (I haven’t finished reading the manga to InuYasha.) She tends to write about men being perverts and the women beating up on the men. I believe that she likes the tsundere troupe. Urusei Yatsura is just bizarre from just watching the movie,  Beautiful Dreamer, and some of the OVAs. InuYasha is okay, but the anime just felt like it was going forever and ever. I’ve also seen Mermaid Scar from her Mermaid Saga manga, but it’s pretty grim. (I remember that I got in trouble with my aunt and her friend for watching it at a younger age.) Overall, Takahashi-san has some interesting work that you should check out.

Feel free to drop your two-sense in about her and future authors and artists.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,187 hits
