Controversial Album Covers V (Pt. 5)

Year: 1980

Black Sabbath: Hell and Heaven

The Problem: The album’s cover, based on a Lynn Curlee painting, Smoking Angels depicted a trio of angels smoking cigarettes. This cover clearly offended churches and gained controversy.

My Take: It reminds me of a spoof of those two little angels from the paint Sistine Madonna I saw one time where it had the angel on the left smoking and the one on the right had cards and a beer, I think. It was a long time ago, so I don’t really remember. (I didn’t even know they were part of an actual painting.) Anyway, I digress. The cover doesn’t look bad; the church just needs to lighten up a little.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,021 hits
