Controversial Album Covers Pt. 7

Year: 1974

David Bowie: Diamond Dogs


The Problem: The cover art featured a half-dog, half-Bowie figure painted by Guy Peellaert. It was controversial as the full painting clearly showed the hybrid’s genitalia, which were later airbrushed out.

My Take: I didn’t see the problem at first glance because wiki only showed the first half of the cover. So, I didn’t know what they were talking about. But now, I can’t say I’m surprised. It’s David Bowie after all. He *does* swing both ways after all. Why are we surprised that the original cover showed his man-dog bits?

Roxy Music: Country Life


The Problem: The cover features two models, who lead singer Bryan Ferry met on holiday. They appear wearing translucent underwear, with their pubic hair and nipples on one of the models visible whilst the other, who isn’t wearing anything over her breasts, is covering them with her hands.

My Take: Could be worse, they could be completely naked. At least they have underwear on and one of them is covering up her ta-tas. So, it’s not that bad.

Richard Pryor: That N****r’s Crazy


The Problem: Both this album cover (left) and disc (right) for comedian Richard Pryor’s album That N****r’s Crazy (1974) openly used that term.

My Take: Must we use the N-word again? I’m just asking…. But it’s Pryor, he didn’t care. So my words fall on deaf ears.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,184 hits
